您的机构控制原始课程视图中哪些工具可用。在 Ultra 课程视图中,始终为教师提供测试,但是目前不支持以匿名方式提交的调查。

显示正确答案

当选择评估设置时,可允许学生在提交自动评分问题后,查看这些问题的正确答案。例如,您可能希望学生可以看到他们在多次评估尝试中失分的题目,但是不让他们看正确答案。您也可以在所有学生完成提交前隐藏答案。

在评估设置面板中,显示正确答案显示问题分数默认情况下未选择,因此对学生隐藏了每个问题的正确答案和分数。当您希望学生查看评估内容的正确答案时,请返回到设置面板,然后选择显示正确答案显示问题分数将自动选中。当您显示正确答案时,您还需要显示问题分数。要仅显示每个问题的分数而不显示正确的分数,请清除显示正确答案复选框。

您设置的到期日期不会影响此设置。当您准备好向所有学生显示答案时,请选中该复选框。

学生完成评估并返回进行核对答案后,该评估的顶部会显示一个横幅。系统会通知他们,教师会在所有学生提交后公布正确答案。在发布成绩之前,您提供的任何反馈都不会显示。

如果您不希望学生看到那些不带问题的评估的横幅,请在创建期间选中显示正确答案复选框。

自动反馈

通过自动反馈,您可以为各个自动评分的问题类型提供反馈。按照您提供的定时发布设置,学生会自动接收反馈。此时可以在问题级别添加反馈。 

选择该选项开关以启用自动反馈。  键入您对正确答案反馈的反馈和错误答案反馈。  对于部分得分的答案也会显示不正确答案的反馈。默认情况下,自动反馈会在学生提交后显示。选择编辑图标可更改发布计时设置。在提交后或在特定日期显示反馈。如果您已选择显示正确答案,您的自动反馈设置需要在相同的时间显示,或者在您显示正确答案日期之前显示。 


关于访问代码

使用访问代码为您的评估添加安全层。

您可以发布访问代码以控制学生和小组参加评估的时间。目前,系统会随机生成访问代码。您不能自定义访问代码。

评估是指测试和作业,但不是 SCORM 项目。

示例:

您添加了访问代码,因为您希望某些学生在其他学生之前进行评估。您只能向第一组学生发布访问代码。以后参加评估的学生无法在参加评估之前预览评估内容。

示例:

您可以为受监督或监考的评估添加访问代码。学生会显示身份证明、从教师或监考人处接收代码,并在课堂中参加评估。

如果多个学生小组在不同时间进行相同的测试,则您可以更改每个小组的访问代码。只是要确保学生尚未保存其作业以便以后继续。

学生可以看到什么?

课程内容页面上,所有学生都可以查看使用访问代码保护的评估,除非您添加发布条件或将其隐藏。所有学生都可以打开详细内容和信息面板以查看您添加的任何说明。没有访问代码的情况下,他们无法开始评估。

访问代码不存储在系统中的任何位置。学生只能从您或您选择给予访问代码的其他角色处来接收访问代码。您可以根据需要更改访问代码,并让学生知道。

如果学生保存评估并希望稍后返回,则学生可以使用相同的代码。学生无需访问代码即可查看您发布的成绩和反馈。


添加访问代码

在测试或作业设置中,选择评估安全部分下的添加访问代码

将访问代码设置为。系统会随机生成一个 6 位数的访问代码,您无法对其进行自定义。使用访问代码旁边的图标进行复制,或进行刷新以更改代码。只有教师可以刷新和更改访问代码。如果您将代码关闭后再打开,则代码将保持不变。

选择继续。访问代码显示在设置面板中。您可以选择垃圾桶图标以删除代码。学生将不再需要代码来开始或继续评估。

提醒:教师或监考人向学生提供访问代码。

LockDown Browser 指示板

要增加评估的安全性,您可以同时打开 Lockdown Browser 和访问代码,它们将一起工作。学生需要提供正确的访问代码,之后 LockDown Browser 才能启动。

详细了解 LockDown Browser


添加计时器

您可以在 Ultra 课程视图中向测试添加时间限制。时间限制可使学生保持正轨并集中精力完成测试,因为每个人都要在有限的时间内提交。测试尝试会在时间到了后自动保存并提交。

您还可以允许学生在超过时间限制后参加测试。额外时间可允许学生在其尝试过程中断开连接时重新连接。您可以允许额外时间,看看您设置的原始时间是否足够让学生阅读并回答所有问题。为测试评分时,您可以查看每个学生使用了多少额外时间来完成测试。您还可以查看哪些问题是在最初时间限制之后做出回答的。学生也可以在访问已评分的测试时看到同样的信息。

目前,您无法向小组测试添加时间限制。

测试设置面板中,选择其他工具区域中的添加时间限制

首先,键入时间限制。您必须添加 1 到 480 之间的整数作为时间限制。小数不受支持。接下来,从以下两个选项中选择一个:

  • 在时间到期时,系统会自动保存并提交工作:如果学生未在时间限制内提交,则系统将自动保存并提交测试。
  • 在时间限制过后,学生有额外的时间进行工作:在您选择该选项时显示的菜单中,选择额外时间:
    • 50%
    • 100%
    • 不受限制的额外时间

50% 和 100% 选项用于显示在测试自动保存和提交之前有多少时间添加到时间限制。例如,如果您将 60 分钟设置为时间限制并选择 50% 作为额外时间,则学生可以额外工作 30 分钟。系统不会提醒学生所允许的额外时间,直到几乎达到最初时间限制。他们会收到弹出消息,提醒允许的额外时间。他们可以选择使用额外时间或提交测试。系统会通知学生可能会针对在时间限制后提交的测试扣分。

如果您允许多次尝试,则时间限制将应用于每次尝试。

选择 X 可返回测试设置面板。您可以查看您所做的时间限制设置。选择时间限制可进行更改。但是,您无法在学生提交内容之后编辑时间限制。指向时间限制,访问删除图标以将其删除。时间限制及测试详情还会显示在课程内容页面上,但额外时间不会显示。

时间限制优待 + 时间限制

如果学生具有时间限制优待并且您在设置中允许更多时间来完成评估,则时间将组合。

详细了解时间限制优待

学生工作流程

学生会在课程内容页面上看到时间限制以及其他测试详情。他们还会在参加测试时,在测试的详细内容和信息面板以及测试内看到时间限制。

学生选择开始尝试时,系统会显示一个弹出窗口,以在学生访问测试之前启动计时器。

如果您允许额外时间,则在最初时间到了后,系统会另外显示一个弹出窗口,告知学生可以现在提交测试,也可以继续参加测试。此外,学生还会得知,在时间限制过后提交的测试可能会扣分。系统不会提醒学生所允许的额外时间,直到几乎达到最初时间限制。

无论学生是否在积极地参加测试,计时器都会继续运行。计时器会显示在窗口底部,告知学生剩余的时间。如果学生保存草稿或离开测试窗口,则倒计时会继续,且其测试会在时间到了后保存并提交。

详细了解如何对具有时间限制的测试评分

Video: Timed Assessments


Watch a video about timed assessments

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Timed assessments shows how to add a timer to assessments.


多次尝试

测试设置中,您可以选择让学生提交多次尝试。多次尝试会更改如何计算测试的最终成绩。选择您希望如何计算最终成绩:

  • 所有尝试的平均值
  • 带有成绩的第一次尝试
  • 成绩最高的尝试
  • 带有成绩的最后一次尝试
  • 成绩最低的尝试

您无法在小组测试或离线收集提交时允许多次尝试。

对尝试评分设置可确定如何自动计算最终成绩,但您可以选择覆盖该成绩。每次尝试都须在您为测试设置的到期日期前提交。如果学生在到期日期之后提交尝试,则系统会将其标记为逾期。在最终期限之前提交的尝试会显示为按时。

您只能覆盖最终成绩,而不能覆盖每次尝试的成绩。

详细了解对多次尝试的测试评分


随机排列问题和答案

您可以随机排列问题和答案,以支持实践/演练活动并帮助学生避免学术欺诈。

您只可以针对搭配题和单项选择题随机显示答案。如果要随机显示判断题的答案,请使用单项选择题类型以及正确和错误答案选项。

您可以使用一种或两种设置,以便针对每位学生区别显示测试。测试的内容设置页面上会显示关于您的随机答案选择的消息。

随机排列问题

测试设置中,选择随机显示问题以按随机顺序向学生显示问题。

问题按照您创建测试的顺序显示。每次学生开始测试尝试时,问题将按不同的顺序显示。如果问题显示在内容和设置页面上时您包括问题序号的引用,请勿使用随机排列问题选项。随机排列顺序会更改问题序号并且可能导致混乱。

学生开始提交后,您可以选择或清除随机排列问题设置。

在包含文本块或文件的测试中,您无法随机排列问题。

随机排列答案的顺序

测试设置中,选择随机排列答案以按随机顺序显示多答和多选选项。

答案按照您创建测试的顺序显示。每次学生开始测试尝试时,答案都将按不同的顺序显示。

学生开始提交后,您无法选择或清除随机排列答案设置。


启用匿名评分

当您创建一个没有问题的测试时,您可以在测试设置面板中启用匿名评分。当您进行评分时学生姓名处于隐藏状态。只能向匿名评分的测试添加文本和文件。

详细了解匿名评分


启用并行评分

当您创建一个没有问题的测试时,您可以在测试设置面板中启用并行评分。 

系统会随机指定您选择的评分者,这样每个学生的测试分配有两个评分者。评分工作量是在各个评分者中平均分配。评分者只能打开指定给他们的学生所提交的内容。教师或核对者决定学生的最终成绩。

详细了解并行评分


关于评估例外情况

出现特殊情况时,您可以为某个学生设置特定测试或作业的例外情况。例外情况包括更多次尝试延长访问时间,即便评估对其他学生处于隐藏状态也是如此。您可以使用显示日期和隐藏日期(不同于到期日期)来延长访问时间。

在设置个人例外情况以便延长访问时间之前,您需要设置有条件的可用性—显示日期以及隐藏日期。

例外情况会覆盖适用于其他所有人的两个设置,仅限该特定评估。学生无法查看您添加的例外情况。

您可以通过评估的提交页面或单个提交来设置测试和作业例外情况。您可以为具有互联网问题、残疾或存在技术和语言差异的学生设置例外情况。

示例

  • 一次尝试的测试:您可以允许失明且要首次使用屏幕阅读器技术的学生进行更多次尝试。
  • 作业带有隐藏日期和时间等有条件的可用性:为具有互联网问题的学生,延长作业的访问时间。但是,如果到期日期和时间与原始隐藏日期时间相同,则该提交仍会在成绩簿中标记为逾期。

对于小组作业或小组测试,您可以为单个小组设置例外情况,仅用于延长访问时间。目前,对于小组评估,不允许进行多次尝试。

详细了解小组例外情况

例外情况与优待

例外情况不同于您在课程名单中设置的优待。优待适用于课程中为个别学生设置的所有到期日期或时间限制。目前,不允许为单个学生或小组设置到期日期和时间限制例外情况。仅对显示日期和隐藏日期以及其他尝试情况,才允许例外。

详细了解优待

详细了解小组如何使用优待


创建评估例外情况

在评估的提交页面上,可以为学生单独添加例外情况。您也可以从学生或小组的个人提交页面上添加例外情况。您不能为匿名评分的评估添加例外情况。

在评估的提交页面上

在评估的提交页面上,打开学生行中的菜单,然后选择编辑设置编辑提交设置面板随即打开。

您可以更改显示日期隐藏日期日期和时间,并允许更多尝试。

详细了解有条件的可用性

在对这些设置进行更改前,您无法保存。如果您不想进行任何更改,请选择取消以关闭面板。

从个人提交

在学生或小组的提交页面上,打开成绩药丸旁边的菜单,然后选择异常编辑提交设置面板随即打开。

延长访问时间的示例

如果您设置为在某个日期和时间之后隐藏内容,则可以为个别学生延长访问时间。例如,“测试 1”在上午 10 点之后隐藏。某个学生遇到互联网问题,因此,您可以仅将该学生的访问时间延长至下午 6 点。但是,如果到期日期也是上午 10 点,则提交仍会在成绩簿中标记为逾期。

在课程动态中,学生将会获得待参加测试的通知,但延长的访问期限不会列在动态中或列在测试中。您需要通知该学生有关延长访问的访问时长。当您允许更多尝试时,您还需要单独通知学生。

例外情况图标显示

在允许学生评估有例外情况之后,您将会在学生姓名旁边看到一个图标。评估例外情况图标与显示优待的图标相同。如果学生的评估有一个优待一个例外情况,则仅显示一个图标。

如果将评估从一个课程复制到另一个课程,则例外情况不会继续存在。如果您将各个项目复制到课程中,请将内容设置为对学生隐藏。如果您将一个课程复制到另一个课程中,则不会复制学生特定的数据。


在发布成绩后添加例外情况

对于您已经评分并发布分数的评估,您也可以为学生设置例外情况。例如,如果您希望学生重做一次已自动评分测试,但没有更多的尝试次数了,则您可以增加一次尝试。因为系统不发送通知,您需要通知学生,他可以再尝试一次。

自动零设置

如果您对课程中的未提交作业应用了自动零,则即便您添加例外情况后,学生的成绩还是零。在对提交评分后,将替换自动零。

详细了解自动零分

Video: Grant Assessment Exceptions


Watch a video about assessment exceptions

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Grant assessment exceptions shows how to allow an exception on a specific test or assignment to an individual student.


小组评估例外情况

小组评估只允许一种类型的例外情况。对于某个特定小组测试或小组作业,您可以为单个小组设置延长访问的例外情况。目前,对于小组评估,不允许进行多次尝试,因此您不能更改允许的尝试次数。

在小组评估的提交页面上,可以为小组单独添加例外情况。您也可以在学生的个人提交页面上添加例外情况。

在小组评估的提交页面上,小组例外情况和优待的图标将显示为同一个图标。评估例外情况图标与小组的名称一同显示。如果小组有成员可以享受优待,则该小组名称会显示有相同的图标。打开 菜单,查看具有该图标的小组名称,以查看您已经添加的例外情况。如果小组有成员可以享受优待并且小组评估有一个例外情况,则仅显示一个图标。

当您从评估的设置面板访问小组时,具有例外情况的小组会在小组名称旁显示有该图标。可以享受优待的小组成员,其姓名旁会显示有相同的图标。


重置例外情况

您可以将学生或小组的例外情况从评估中删除。

在评估的提交页面 > 学生或小组的菜单 > 编辑设置 > 重置设置

例外情况设置已删除。学生或小组现在的允许尝试次数和访问时段已恢复为原始评估设置。选择保存进行确认。例外情况的图标将被删除,除非学生或小组也具有一个优待。

在学生开始提交后,您不能减少尝试次数。

Your institution controls which tools are available in the Original Course View. Tests are always available to instructors in the Ultra Course View, but anonymously submitted surveys aren't supported at this time.

Show correct answers

As you select assessment settings, you can allow students to see the correct answers to automatically scored questions after they submit. For example, you want students to see which questions they missed on a multiple attempt assessment, but not see the correct answers. You can also hide answers until all students complete their submissions.

In the assessment settings panel, the Show correct answers and Show question scores aren't selected by default, so correct answers and scores per question are hidden from students. When you want students to review the answers with the assessment content, return to the settings panel and select Show correct answers. Show question scores will be selected automatically. When you show correct answers, you need to also show the question scores. To show only the score per question but not the correct score, clear the check box for Show correct answers.

The due date you set doesn't affect this setting. Select the check box when you're ready to reveal the answers to all students.

After students complete an assessment and return to review it, a banner appears at the top of the assessment. They're informed that their instructor will reveal the correct answers after all students have submitted. Any feedback you've provided won't appear until grades are posted.

If you don't want students to see the banner for assessments without questions, select the check box for Show correct answers during creation.

Automated feedback

Automated feedback allows your to provide feedback on individual auto-graded question types. Students automatically receive the feedback based on the timing release settings you provide. Feedback can be added at the question level at this time. 

Select the toggle to enable Automated Feedback. Type your feedback for Correct answer feedback and Incorrect answer feedback. Incorrect answer feedback also displays for partial credit answers. By default, automated feedback displays after the student submission. Select the edit icon to change the release timing settings. Display the feedback after submission or on a specific date. If you're selected Show correct answers, your automated feedback settings need to display at the same time or before your show correct answers date.


About access codes

Add a layer of security to your assessments with an access code.

You can issue an access code to control when students and groups take an assessment. At this time, access codes are generated randomly by the system. You can't customize the access codes.

Assessments refer to tests and assignments, but not SCORM items.

Example:

You add an access code because you want some students to take the assessment before others. You can release the access code only to the first group of students. The students who take the assessment later can't preview the assessment before they take it.

Example:

You can add an access code for a supervised or proctored assessment. Students show proof of identity, receive the code from the instructor or proctor, and take the assessment in the classroom.

If several groups of students take the same test at different times, you can change the access code for each group. Just be certain students haven't saved their work to continue later.

What do students see?

On the Course Content page, all students can see an assessment protected with an access code unless you add release conditions or hide it. All students can open the Details & Information panel to view any instructions you've added. They can't start the assessment without the access code.

The access code isn't stored anywhere in the system. Students can only receive the access code from you or other roles you choose to give it to. You can change the access code as needed and let students know.

Students can use the same code if they save the assessment and want to return later. Students don't need the access code to view the grades and feedback you post.


Add an access code

In a test or assignment's Settings panel, select Add access code in the Assessment security section.

Turn the access code to On. The system randomly generates a 6-digit access code that you can't customize. Use the icons next to the access code to copy it or refresh to change the code. Only instructors can refresh and change the access code. If you turn the code off and on again, the code remains the same.

Select Continue. The access code appears in the Settings panel. You can select the trash can icon to remove the code. Students will no longer need a code to start or continue the assessment.

Reminder: Instructors or proctors provide the access code to students.

LockDown Browser Dashboard

To add more security to your assessments, you can turn on both the Lockdown Browser and access code and they'll work together. Students need to provide the correct access code before the LockDown Browser is launched.

More on the LockDown Browser


Add a timer

You can add a time limit to a test in the Ultra Course View. A time limit can keep students on track and focused on the test because each person has a limited amount of time to submit. The test attempts are saved and submitted automatically when time is up.

You can also allow students to work past the time limit. Additional time allows students to reconnect if they lose connectivity during their attempts. You can allow extra time to see if the original time you set is enough for students to read and answer all the questions. When you grade tests, you can see how much extra time each student used to complete the test. You can also see which questions were answered after the initial time limit. Students also see this same information when they access their graded tests.

At this time, you can't add a time limit to group tests.

In the Test Settings panel, select Add time limit in the Additional Tools section.

First, type a time limit. You must add time limits as whole numbers between 1 and 480. Decimals aren't supported. Next, select one of two options:

  • Work is automatically saved and submitted when time expires: If a student doesn't submit within the time limit, the system saves and submits the test automatically.
  • Students have extra time to work after the time limit expires: In the menu that appears when you select this option, choose the amount of extra time:
    • 50%
    • 100%
    • Unlimited extra time

The 50% and 100% options show how much time is added to the time limit before the test is saved and submitted automatically. For example, if you set 60 minutes as the time limit and choose 50% extra time, your students can work for an additional 30 minutes. Your students aren't alerted to the extra time allowed until the initial time limit is almost up. They receive a pop-up message that alerts them to the extra time allowed. They can choose to use the extra time or submit the test. They're informed that they may receive partial credit for work submitted after the time limit.

If you allow multiple attempts, the time limit applies to each attempt.

Select the X to return the Test Settings panel. You can view the time limit setting you made. Select the time limit to make changes. However, you can't edit the time limit after students have made submissions. Point to the time limit to access the Remove icon to remove it. The time limit also appears on the Course Content page with the test details, but the extra time doesn't appear.

Time limit accommodation + time limit

If students have a time limit accommodation and you allow more time to complete an assessment in the settings, the times are combined.

More about time limit accommodations

Student workflow

Students see the time limit with other test details on the Course Content page. They also see the time limit on the test's Details & Information panel and within the test as they’re working.

When students select Start attempt, they'll receive a pop-up window to start the timer before they can access the test.

If you allowed extra time, when the initial time is up, another pop-up window informs them they can submit the test now or work longer. They're also informed that work submitted after the limit may receive partial credit. Your students aren't alerted to the extra time allowed until the initial time limit is almost up.

The timer keeps running whether or not students are actively working on the test. The timer appears at the bottom of the window to let students know how much time is left. If they save a draft or leave the test window, the countdown continues and their work is saved and submitted when time is up.

More about grading tests with time limits

Video: Timed Assessments


Watch a video about timed assessments

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Timed assessments shows how to add a timer to assessments.


Multiple attempts

In Test Settings, you can choose to let students submit more than one attempt. Multiple attempts change how the test's final grade is calculated. Choose how you want to calculate the final grade:

  • Average of all attempts
  • First attempt with a grade
  • Attempt with highest grade
  • Last attempt with a grade
  • Attempt with lowest grade

You can't allow multiple attempts on a group test or when you collect submissions offline.

The Grade attempts setting determines how the final grade is automatically calculated, but you have the option to override the grade. Each attempt is subject to the due date you set for the test. If a student submits an attempt after the due date, the attempt is marked late. Attempts submitted before the deadline are shown as on time.

You can only override the final grade, not the grades for each attempt.

More on grading a test with multiple attempts


Randomize questions and answers

You can randomize questions and their answers to support practice/drilling activities and help students avoid academic dishonesty.

You can only randomize answers for Matching and Multiple Choice questions. If you want to randomize answers for True/False questions, use the Multiple Choice question type with True and False answer choices.

You can use one or both settings so tests appear differently for each student. A message appears on the test's Content Settings page about your randomize answers selection.

Randomize questions

In Test Settings, select Randomize questions to show questions to students in a random order.

Questions appear in order as you create the test. Each time a student begins a test attempt, the questions appear in a different order. If you include references to the question numbers as they appear on the Content and Settings page, don't use the Randomize questions option. The random order changes the question numbering and may cause confusion.

After students start their submissions, you may select or clear the Randomize questions setting.

You can't randomize questions in a test with text blocks or files.

Randomize the order of answers

In Test Settings, select Randomize answers to show Multiple Answer and Multiple Choice answer options to students in a random order.

Answers appear in order as you create the test. Each time a student begins a test attempt, the answers appear in a different order.

After students start their submissions, you can't select or clear the Randomize answers setting.


Enable anonymous grading

When you create a test without questions, you can enable anonymous grading in the Test Settings panel. Student names are hidden while you grade. You may only add text and files to anonymously graded tests.

More on anonymous grading


Enable parallel grading

When you create a test without questions, you can enable parallel grading in the Test Settings panel. 

The system randomly assigns graders you choose so each student has two graders for the test. The grading workload is distributed evenly among the graders. Graders can only open the submissions for the students assigned to them. Instructors or reconcilers determine the final grades for students.

More on parallel grading


About assessment exceptions

When special circumstances arise, you can give an individual student an exception on a specific test or assignment. An exception includes additional attempts or extended access, even if the assessment is hidden from other students. You can extend access with the show on and hide after dates which is different from the due date.

You need to set conditional availability—show on and hide after dates—before you set an individual exception for extended access.

An exception overrides the two settings applied to everyone else for only that specific assessment. Students don't see the exceptions you've added.

You set test and assignment exceptions from the assessment's Submissions page or an individual submission. You might use exceptions for students who have internet issues, disabilities, or technology and language differences.

Examples:

  • Test with one attempt: Allow more attempts for a student who is blind and wants to use screen reader technology for the first time.
  • Assignment with the conditional availability of Hide after date and time: Extend the access to an assignment for a student with internet issues. However, if the due date and time are the same as the original Hide after time, the submission is still marked late in the gradebook.

For a group assignment or group test, you can give an individual group an exception for extended access only. Multiple attempts aren't allowed for group assessments at this time.

More on group exceptions

Exceptions vs. accommodations

Exceptions are different from accommodations you set in the course roster. An accommodation applies to all due dates or time limits in your course for an individual student. Exceptions aren't allowed for due dates and time limits for an individual student or group at this time. Exceptions are only allowed for the show on and hide after dates and additional attempts.

More on accommodations

More on how accommodations work with groups


Create an assessment exception

From an assessment's Submissions page, you can add exceptions for students individually. You can also add exceptions from a student or group's individual submission page. You can't add an exception for an anonymously graded assessment.

From an assessment's Submissions page

From an assessment's Submissions page, open the menu in a student's row and select Edit settings. The Edit Submission Settings panel opens.

You can change the Show on and Hide after dates and times and allow additional attempts.

More on conditional availability

You can't save until you make a change to the settings. If you don't want to make any changes, select Cancel to close the panel.

From an individual submission

From a student or group's submission page, open the menu next to the grade pill and select Exceptions. The Edit Submission Settings panel opens.

Example of extended access:

If you've hidden content after a certain date and time, you can extend the access for an individual student. For example, "Test 1" is hidden today after 10 AM. A student has internet issues, so you extend the access for just that student to 6 PM. However, if the due date is also at 10 AM, the submission is still marked late in the gradebook.

In the activity stream, the student is notified about the available test, but the extended access period isn't listed in the stream or with the test. You'll need to inform the student about the length of the extended access period. You'll also need to notify students individually when you allow additional attempts.

Exception icon appears

After you allow an exception for a student's assessment, you'll see an icon next to the student's name. The assessment exception icon is the same icon that appears for accommodations. If a student has an accommodation and an exception for an assessment, only one icon appears.

If you copy an assessment from one course to another, the exceptions don't carry over. Content is set to Hidden from students if you copy individual items into your course. If you copy one course into another course, student-specific data isn't copied.


Add an exception after a grade is posted

You can offer a student an exception for an assessment you've already graded and posted. For example, if you want a student to redo an automatically graded test that has no more attempts, you can add an additional attempt. You'll need to inform the student of the additional attempt as the system doesn't send a notification.

Automatic zeros setting

If you've applied automatic zeros for unsubmitted work in your course, the student has a zero even after you add an exception. The automatic zero is replaced after you grade the submission.

More on automatic zeros

Video: Grant Assessment Exceptions


Watch a video about assessment exceptions

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Grant assessment exceptions shows how to allow an exception on a specific test or assignment to an individual student.


Group assessment exceptions

Only one type of exception is allowed for group assessments. You can give an individual group an extended access exception on a specific group test or group assignment. Because multiple attempts aren't allowed for group assessments at this time, you can't change the attempts allowed.

From a group assessment's Submissions page, you can add exceptions for groups individually. You can also add exceptions from a group's individual submission page.

On a group assessment's Submissions page, the same icon appears for group exceptions and accommodations. The assessment exception icon appears with a group's name. If a group has members with accommodations, the same icon appears with the group's name. Open the menu for each group's name with an icon to view the exceptions you've added. If a group has members with accommodations and an exception for a group assessment, only one icon appears.

When you access groups from an assessment's settings panel, groups with exceptions appear with the icon next to the group name. Group members who have accommodations appear with the same icon next to their names.


Reset an exception

You can remove a student or group's exception to an assessment.

From an assessment's Submissions page > student or group's menu > Edit settings > Reset settings

The exception settings are removed. The student or group now has the original assessment settings for the attempts allowed and the access time period. Select Save to confirm. The icon for the exception is removed unless the student or group also has an accommodation.

You can't reduce the number of attempts after students have started their submissions.