تمتلك Blackboard برنامج أمان قويًا لا يعمل فقط على منع ظهور المشكلات الأمنية، بل يستأصلها من جذورها أيضًا. وتحرص Blackboard على إجراء اختبار أمان داخلي متواصل على مستوى التعليمات البرمجية (التحليل الثابت) ومستوى التطبيق (التحليل الديناميكي) لضمان استيفائه لتوقعات Blackboard وتوقعات عملائنا. علاوة على ذلك، حتى نضع تطبيقاتنا تحت أعين مراقبة جديدة بشكل منتظم، تجري Blackboard اختبار اختراق أمني من مقدمي خدمات أمنية خارجيين. ومن المقرر أن تخضع أي مشكلات يتم التعرف عليها للإصلاح على وجه السرعة.

من المهم أن تدرك أن برنامج الأمان في Blackboard ممارسةٌ خاضعة للنضج والتطور. فنحن لا نتوانى عن العمل على التحسين المستمر لرفع مستوى الميزات الأمنية والمتانة في منتجات Blackboard.


التصميم مع وضع الأمان في الاعتبار

تلتزم Blackboard بتزويد عملائنا بتطبيقات آمنة. ومن ثم فإن Blackboard لا تتوقف عن تطوير منتجاتنا وفقًا لمجموعة من إرشادات هندسة الأمان المستمدة من العديد من المنظمات مثل مشروع أمان تطبيق الويب المفتوح (OWASP)، بما في ذلك تدابير مضادة خاصة لأخطر عشرة ثغرات أمنية في OWASP. كما تدمج Blackboard ممارسات الأمان هذه في جميع مراحل دورة حياة تطوير البرامج (SDLC).

تستخدم Blackboard عدة طرق لحماية تطبيقاتنا بما في ذلك تقييمات الأمان التنازلية من خلال نمذجة التهديدات وتحليلها بالإضافة إلى اكتشاف تصاعدي لأي تهديد على مستوى التعليمات البرمجية من خلال تحليل ثابت وتحليل ديناميكي واختبار للاختراق اليدوي.

تتبع Blackboard الإرشادات المتوفرة بشأن أفضل الممارسات من العديد من المنظمات للمساعدة على تعريز أمان منتجاتنا وبرامجنا. فيما يلي بعض من تلك المنظمات:

  • المعهد القومي للمعايير والتكنولوجيا (NIST)
  • الشبكة الأوروبية ووكالة أمان المعلومات (ENISA)
  • معهد SANS
  • مشروع أمان تطبيق الويب المفتوح (OWASP)
  • تحالف أمان مجموعة النظراء (CSA)

نمذجة التهديدات

مع تطوير ميزات جديدة، يحرص فريق الأمن على تقييم المتطلبات وتصميم النظام للمساعدة في تخفيف المخاطر عن طريق تنفيذ نمذجة التهديدات. علمًا بأن نمذجة التهديدات عمليةٌ منظمة يتم خلالها تحديد التهديدات الأمنية ذات الصلة بالميزة قيد المراجعة بحيث يمكن الوقوف على التدابير الأمنية المناسبة وتطبيقها.


الترميز الآمن وأخطر 10 ثغرات أمنية في OWASP

يتم تطوير منتجات Blackboard وفقًا لمجموعة من إرشادات التطوير المستمدة من OWASP، والتي تشتمل على تدابير مضادة محددة تتعلق بالثغرات الأمنية العشر الرئيسية في OWASP لعام 2013.

A1: الهجوم عن طريق الحقن (حقن SQL/DOM/LDAP)معيار الترميز الخاص بنا هو استخدام متغيرات الربط وتجنب القيم الحرفية المنسوخة في عبارات SQL. تقتصر وظيفة LDAP على المصادقة.
A2: إدارة الجلسات والمصادقات المقطوعةلا تعمل منتجات Blackboard إلا ضمن TLS، لذلك يتم تشفير جميع ملفات تعريف الارتباط.
A3: البرمجة النصية للمواقع المشتركة (XSS)يتم تخفيف البرمجة النصية للمواقع المشتركة من خلال استخدام المكتبات المشتركة مثل ESAPI ومعايير التطوير. ومن المتوقع أن يتم تمرير جميع المدخلات النصية المقدمة من المستخدم النهائي عبر أساليب المطهر؛ كما أنه من المتوقع أن يتم إنشاء أي أنواع أخرى من المدخلات (التواريخ وقيم التحديد/الاختيار) من كائنات المجال المكتوبة، بدلاً من نسخها مباشرة من إدخال المستخدم.
A4: مراجع الكائنات المباشرة غير الآمنةتتم الإشارة إلى جميع كائنات التطبيقات عبر "معرفات" عادةً ما يتم ربطها بالمفتاح الأساسي. ومع ذلك، يتم ربط جميع الكائنات وتنفيذ كل عمليات التحقق من الأمان وفقًا "لسياق". على سبيل المثال، قد يشير طلب ما إلى "معرف رسالة" الذي هو عبارة عن مشاركة في لوحة مناقشة لمقرر دراسي. يتمثل معيار Blackboard في إجراء التحقق من التفويض للامتياز المصاحب لدور المستخدم.
في الحالات التي يفشل فيها فرض هذا المعيار بشكل صحيح، يكون الإصلاح بسيطًا، نظرًا لأن جميع كيانات البيانات المحمية في النظام مربوطة بسياق أمان (مقرر دراسي أو مجال).
A5: التكوين الخاطئ للأمانتتبع Blackboard سياسة آمنة بشكل افتراضي مع الاستفادة من ملاحظات الإصدار والوثائق عندما يكون اعتبار مسؤول النظام الخاص مطلوبًا. كما تشجع Blackboard العملاء على اتباع دليل أفضل ممارسات التكوين الآمن الذي تقدمه لهم عندما يتوفر ويكون ملائمًا لمنتج Blackboard الخاص بهم.

التدقيق الأمني
يتم تسجيل الأحداث الأمنية في سجلات خاصة بالأمان.

تسرب المعلومات ومعالجة الأخطاء
يتم تطبيق معالجة الأخطاء القياسية على جميع الصفحات (عبر قالب صفحة قياسي ومكتبة وسوم)، مما يؤدي إلى إخراج قياسي لجميع الأخطاء، وخاصة الأخطاء غير المعروفة. وقد يتضمن الإخراج القياسي تتبع التكدس (تسرب معلومات ثانوي)، ولكن ليس أيًا من البيانات التي كانت تتم معالجتها عند فشل الطلب، ويكون مرئيًا فقط لأولئك الذين لديهم حق الوصول على مستوى المسؤول. بينما المستخدمون الذين بلا امتيازات (مثل الطلاب) غير قادرين على رؤية تتبعات التكدسات المفصلة.

A6: كشف البيانات الحساسةيتمثل معيار Blackboard في تجزئة كلمات مرور المستخدمين وإضافة قيمة عشوائية لها باستخدام SHA-160.

دعم منتجات Blackboard قيد التشغيل ضمن TLS؛ ومع ذلك، تقع على جهة التوزيع مسؤولية تكوين TLS بشكل صحيح عندما يكون منتجها مستضافًا ذاتيًا.

A7: فقدان التحكم في الوصول إلى المستويات الوظيفيةتتم إدارة ذلك على مستويين -- المطالبة بأن يقوم منطق الأعمال بفرض عمليات التحقق من التفويض، ومن خلال الحرص على أن تغطي حالات اختبار ضمان الجودة متطلبات التفويض لشاشات مختلفة.
A8: تزييف طلب مواقع مشتركة (CSRF)يتبع الإطار الأمني الخاص بنا توصيات OWASP الخاصة بقيم nonce لكل طلب ودلالات POST فقط. تستخدم طلبات AJAX قيم nonce لكل جلسة.
A9: استخدام مكونات ذات ثغرات أمنية معروفةيتم تخفيف ذلك من خلال إجراء عمليات فحص منتظمة بحثًا عن الثغرات الأمنية على مستوى كل من البنية الأساسية وحزم البرامج التابعة لجهات خارجية لتحديد المكونات ذات الثغرات الأمنية المعروفة ولوضع خطة لترقية تلك التي لها تصحيحات متوفرة.
A10: عمليات إعادة التوجيه وإعادة الإرسال غير المتحقق من صحتهايتطلب معيار الترميز الآمن في Blackboard من عمليات إعادة التوجيه وإعادة الإرسال أن تقوم بالتأكيد على أنها عناوين محلية. يتم اختبار هذه الثغرة الأمنية بشكل منتظم.

فئات الثغرات الامنيه السابقة في اعلي عشره OWASP

تنفيذ الملف الضارلا يتم استخدام الملفات التي تم تحميلها من قبل المستخدمين النهائيين غير المميزين كملفات تنفيذيه. المستخدمون المميزون (علي سبيل المثال ، الرغم من ذلك ، يمكن ان يقوم مسؤولو النظام بتحميل الحزم القابلة للتنفيذ التي تسمي الكتل البرمجية الانشائيه التي تزيد من وظائف النظام. ويتم الافتراض بان مسؤولي النظام هذا يفهمون المخاطر ويتبعون مراجعه مورد الصوت وتغيير ممارسات الاداره حول تثبيت اي كتل برمجيه انشائيه خارجيه.

تمثل أي بيانات حول التوقعات المستقبلية والخطط والآفاق الخاصة لدى Blackboard وجهات النظر الحالية للشركة. وقد تختلف النتائج الفعلية ماديًا نتيجة للعوامل المهمة المختلفة. كما تتوقع الشركة أن الأحداث والتحسينات اللاحقة ستؤدي إلى تغيير وجهات نظر الشركة. ومع ذلك، في حين أن الشركة قد تنتقي تحديث تلك البيانات في وقت ما بالمستقبل، فإن الشركة تخلي مسؤوليتها على وجه التحديد تجاه أي التزام بالقيام بذلك.


الالتزام بإدارة نقاط الضعف وسياسة الكشف

يتم التحكم في برنامج أداره الثغرات الامنيه الخاصة بالBlackboard من قبل "التزام التحكم في الواجهة العامة" وسياسة الكشف أدناه. لا يوجد مورد برامج مناسب في الحدث الذي تم فيه تحديد مشكله عدم حصانه الأمان في منتج تم إصداره ، ويكون فريق الأمان الخاص بالBlackboard جاهزا للرد.

للمساعدة في تسجيل الدخول ، يتعين عليك الاتصال بمكتب مساعده تكنولوجيا المساعدة الخاص بمؤسسك. لا يمتلك Blackboard حق الوصول إلى معلومات حساب مؤسستك أو مواقع الويب أو المحتوي. في حال عدم معرفتك لكيفية الاتصال بمكتب المساعدة، حاول البحث في الويب عن اسم مؤسستك + مكتب المساعدة، أو قم بالاطلاع على صفحة تسجيل الدخول الخاصة بك للحصول على رابط الدعم أو معلومات جهة الاتصال.

وتلتزم Blackboard بحل الثغرات الامنيه بسرعة وبحرص. قد يؤدي وجود مثل هذه المستويات إلى نشر النصائح الاستشارية للامان و/أو اي تحديث منتج مطلوب لعملاءنا. لحماية العملاء والبيانات الخاصة بهم ، اطلب من هذه المشاكل الطريقة مسؤول والكونفيدينتيالي التي أعلمنا بأنه بإمكاننا التحقق والرد. يجب الإعلان عن مشكلات عدم الحصانة حتى يتم تطوير تحديث المنتج وكومبريهينسيفيليه وجعله متاحا للعملاء المرخصين.

وتعتبر منتجات Blackboard معقده. ويتم تشغيلها علي العديد من عمليات تكوين الاجهزه والبرامج ، ويتم توصيلها بالعديد من تطبيقات الجهات الخارجية. تتطلب جميع تعديلات البرامج-كبيره أو صغيره-التحليل التام ، بالاضافه إلى التطوير والتنفيذ عبر بنود المنتجات والإصدارات المتعددة. ويجب ان يخضع البرنامج أيضا للترجمة وامكانيه الوصول والاختبار المناسب للنطاق والتعقيد والخطورة الخاصة به. تم إعطاء الاهميه الهامه لمنتجاتنا علي عملائنا ، وينبغي علي Blackboard ضمان تشغيلها بشكل صحيح فقط في "تسهيلات الاختبار" الخاصة بنا ، ولكنها أيضا في بيئات العملاء. وعلي الرغم من ذلك ، لا يمكن Blackboard توفير تحديثات المنتجات وفقا لمخطط زمني معين ، ولكننا تلتزم بالعمل اكسبيديتيوسلي.

غالبًا ما تستغل الجهات الضارة الثغرات الأمنية في البرامج عن طريق الهندسة العكسية لإرشادات الأمان المنشورة وتحديثات المنتجات. ومن المهم ان يقوم العملاء بتحديث البرنامج بشكل فوري واستخدام نظام تصنيف الخطورة الخاص بنا كدليل لجدوله الترقيات بشكل أفضل. التالي ، تكون المناقشة العامة لمشكله عدم الحصانة هذه سليمه فقط بعد حصول العملاء علي الفرصة للحصول علي تحديثات المنتج.

اختبار مشاكل عدم حصانه الأمان

ينبغي ان تقوم باجراء جميع الاختبارات الامنيه مقابل مثيلات غير تابعه للإنتاج الخاصة بمنتجاتنا لتقليل المخاطرة بين البيانات والخدمات.


كيفية الإبلاغ عن وجود ثغرة أمنية

كونفيدينتيالي مشاركه تفاصيل الثغرة الامنيه المحتملة بواسطة ملء نموذج تقديم الثغرة الامنيه.

قم بتوفير تفاصيل الثغرة الامنيه المحتملة بحيث يمكن ان يقوم فريق أمان الBlackboard بالتحقق من المشكلة وأعاده إنتاجها بسرعة. وبدون المعلومات الموجودة أعلاه ، قد يكون من الصعب عدم القيام بمعالجه الثغرة الامنيه المحتملة. ولن تتم معالجة التقارير التي تسرد العديد من الثغرات الأمنية المحتملة دون إضافة تفاصيل ويتم ذلك دون تقديم أي توضيح إضافي. ينبغي ان تتضمن التفاصيل ما يلي:

  • نوع مشكله عدم الحصانة;
  • ما إذا كان قد تم نشر المعلومات أو مشاركتها مع الجهات الأخرى ام لا.
  • المنتجات والإصدارات المتاثره;
  • تكوينات متاثره;
  • الإرشادات خطوه بخطوه أو الإثبات الخاص بالتعليمات البرمجية الخاصة بالتصور لأعاده إنتاج المشكلة.

Blackboard التزام الأمان

لريبورتيرس الثغرة الامنيه التي تتبع هذا النهج ، سيحاول Blackboard القيام بما يلي:

  • إقرار استلام تقريرك;
  • التحقق في الوقت المناسب ، مما يؤكد علي احتمال الثغرة الامنيه المحتملة ؛
  • قم بتوفير خطه واطار زمني لعنونه الثغرة الامنيه إذا رغبت في ذلك.
  • يمكنك اعلام المسجل بالثغرة الامنيه عند حل مشكله عدم الحصانة.

مساهمه يفيد

لا يحتوي Blackboard علي برنامج حصانه بونتي. ونتيجة لذلك ، لن توفر Blackboard التقييم أو التعويض للإبلاغ عن مشكلات عدم حصانه الأمان.

Blackboard has a robust security program that not only acts to prevent security issues from appearing, but also roots them out. Blackboard performs continuous internal security testing at the code-level (static analysis) and application-level (dynamic analysis) to ensure it meets both Blackboard and our customer's expectations. Furthermore, to regularly get fresh eyes on our applications, Blackboard obtains security penetration testing from third party security vendors. Any identified issues are quickly slated for repair.

It is important to realize Blackboard's security program is a growing and maturing practice. We operate under continuous improvement to push the bar on security features and robustness in Blackboard products.


Built with security in mind

Blackboard is committed to providing our clients secure applications. Blackboard develops our products according to a set of security engineering guidelines derived from many organizations such as the Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP), including specific countermeasures for OWASP Top Ten vulnerabilities. Blackboard incorporates these security practices in all phases of the software development lifecycle (SDLC).

Blackboard utilizes several methods to protect our applications including “top-down” security assessments through Threat Modeling and analysis as well as “bottom-up” code-level threat detection through static analysis, dynamic analysis, and manual penetration testing.

Blackboard follows best practice guidance from many organizations to help strengthen the security of our products and programs. A few organizations are noted here:

  • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • European Network and Information Security Agency (ENISA)
  • SANS Institute
  • Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP)
  • Cloud Security Alliance (CSA)

Threat modeling

As new features are developed, the Security Team assesses the requirements and system design to help mitigate risks by performing Threat Modeling. Threat Modeling is a structured process where security threats pertinent to the feature under review are identified so that appropriate security countermeasures may be identified and applied.


Secure coding and the OWASP top 10 vulnerabilities

Blackboard products are developed according to a set of development guidelines that are derived from OWASP, including specific countermeasures for OWASP Top Ten vulnerabilities for 2013.

A1: Injection (SQL/DOM/LDAP injection) Our coding standard is to use bind variables and avoid literals transcribed into SQL statements. LDAP functionality is restricted to authentication.
A2: Broken Authentication and Session Management Blackboard products only run under TLS, so all cookies are encrypted.
A3: Cross-site Scripting (XSS) Cross-site scripting is mitigated through the use of shared libraries such as ESAPI and development standards. All end user-submitted text input is expected to be passed through sanitizer methods; any other kinds of input (dates, select/option values) are expected to be generated from typed domain objects, rather than transcribed directly from user input.
A4: Insecure Direct Object References All application objects are referenced via “ids” that usually map to the primary key. However, all objects map to and all security checks are performed against a “context.” For example, a request might reference a “message id” that is a discussion board post for a course. The Blackboard standard is to perform the authorization check for the privilege attached to a user's role.
In cases where this standard fails to be correctly enforced, remediation is simple, since all protected data entities in the system map to a security context (course or domain).
A5: Security Misconfiguration Blackboard follows a secure-by-default policy with Release Notes and Documentation leveraged when special System Administrator consideration is required. Blackboard encourages customers to follow its Secure Configuration best practices guide when one is available and relevant to your specific Blackboard product.

Security Auditing
Security Events are logged in security-specific logs.

Information Leakage and Error Handling
Standard error handling is applied to all pages (via a standard page template and tag library), resulting in a standard output for all errors, especially unrecognized errors. The standard output may include a stack trace (minor information leakage), but none of the data that was being processed when the request failed and is only visible to those with administrator-level access. Unprivileged users (such as students) are not able to see detailed stack traces.

A6: Sensitive Data Exposure Blackboard’s standard is to hash and salt user passwords with SHA-160.

Blackboard products support running under TLS; however, it is the responsibility of the deployer to properly configure TLS when their product is self-hosted.

A7: Missing Function Level Access Control This is managed at two levels -- requiring that business logic enforce authorization checks, and by ensuring that QA test cases cover authorization requirements for different screens.
A8: Cross-site Request Forgery (CSRF) Our security framework follows OWASP recommendations for per-request nonce values and POST-only semantics. AJAX requests use per-session nonce values.
A9: Using Components with Known Vulnerabilities This is mitigated by conducting regular vulnerability scans of both our infrastructure and the third-party software packages to identify components with known vulnerabilities and to develop a roadmap to upgrade those with available patches.
A10: Unvalidated Redirects and Forwards The Blackboard Secure Coding Standard requires redirects and forwards to verify they are local addresses. This vulnerability is regularly tested.

Previous vulnerability categories in the OWASP top ten

Malicious File Execution Files uploaded by non-privileged end users are never used as executables. Privileged users (i.e., System Administrators), may, however, upload executable packages called Building Blocks that extend the functionality of the system. It is assumed, that System Administrators understand the risks and follow sound vendor review and change management practices around the installation of any third party Building Blocks.

Any statements about future expectations, plans, and prospects for Blackboard represent the Company’s current views. Actual results may differ materially as a result of various important factors. The Company anticipates that subsequent events and developments will cause the Company’s views to change. However, while the Company may elect to update these statements at some point in the future, the Company specifically disclaims any obligation to do so.


Vulnerability Management Commitment and Disclosure Policy

Blackboard's vulnerability management program is governed by this public-facing Vulnerability Management Commitment and Disclosure Policy below. No software vendor is perfect - in the event a security vulnerability is identified in a released product, Blackboard's Security Team is ready to respond. Customers and security researchers have a dedicated security channel they may use to contact the Security Team: [email protected].

For help logging in, you need to contact your institution’s IT help desk. Blackboard doesn't have access to your institution's account information, web sites, or content. If you don’t know how to contact the help desk, try searching the web for your institution’s name + help desk, or check your login page for a support link or contact information.

Blackboard is committed to resolving security vulnerabilities quickly and carefully. Such resolutions may lead to the release of a Security Advisory and/or any needed product update for our customers. In order to protect our customers and their data, we request that vulnerabilities be responsibly and confidentially reported to us so that we may investigate and respond. Vulnerabilities shouldn't be announced until we have developed and comprehensively tested a product update and made it available to licensed customers.

Blackboard’s products are complex. They run on diverse hardware and software configurations, and are connected to many third party applications. All software modifications—big or small—require thorough analysis, as well as development and implementation across multiple product lines and versions. The software must also undergo localization, accessibility, and testing appropriate to its scope, complexity, and severity. Given the critical importance of our products to our customers, Blackboard must ensure that they run correctly not only in our testing facilities, but also in customer environments. Accordingly, Blackboard can't provide product updates according to a set timeline, but we are committed to working expeditiously.

Malicious parties often exploit software vulnerabilities by reverse engineering published security advisories and product updates. It's important for customers to update software promptly and use our severity rating system as a guide to better schedule upgrades. Therefore, public discussion of the vulnerability is only appropriate after customers have an opportunity to obtain product updates.

Testing for security vulnerabilities

You should conduct all vulnerability testing against non-production instances of our products to minimize the risk to data and services.


How to report a vulnerability

Confidentially share details of the potential vulnerability by sending an email to [email protected].

Provide details of the potential vulnerability so the Blackboard security team may validate and reproduce the issue quickly. Without the above information, it may be difficult if not impossible to address the potential vulnerability. Reports listing numerous potential vulnerabilities without detail won't be addressed without further clarification. Details should include:

  • Type of vulnerability;
  • Whether the information has been published or shared with other parties;
  • Affected products and versions;
  • Affected configurations; and
  • Step-by-step instructions or proof-of-concept code to reproduce the issue.

Blackboard security commitment

To all vulnerability reporters who follow this Policy, Blackboard will attempt to do the following:

  • Acknowledge the receipt of your report;
  • Investigate in a timely manner, confirming where possible the potential vulnerability;
  • Provide a plan and timeframe for addressing the vulnerability if appropriate; and
  • Notify the vulnerability reporter when the vulnerability has been resolved.

Acknowledging contribution

With the agreement of the vulnerability reporter, Blackboard may acknowledge the reporter's contribution during the public disclosure of the vulnerability so long as the reporter complies with this policy. Blackboard doesn't compensate for reporting security vulnerabilities.


Changes in policy

Blackboard is committed to improving its security policy and as such, may update or amend this policy at any time with or without notice to you. If you have any questions regarding this policy, please email us at [email protected].