以下教育领域无障碍访问信息图的替换文本

Accessibility in education infographic

您知道吗,全球有 10 ​​亿人具有精神或肢体方面的残疾。或者说,北美地区有 12.9% 的学生具有某种形式的残疾。

这对于教育领域意味着什么?

北美高校毕业生中,残疾学生的比例自 2011 年提高了 0.5%。现在,他们中有 64% 在四年内获得了高校文凭。不幸的是,在同样的时间里,北美地区高中生的辍学率也提高了 0.5%。19.7% 的残疾学生将在完成高中学业之前辍学。

大多数学生在参加高等教育时,选择不公布自己的残疾情况。这包括 60% 到 80% 的北美大学生和 9% 的研究生。即便如此,作为教育工作者,我们可以做很多事情来帮助残疾学生取得成功。

全球 3% 的人口(北美地区不到 1% 的学生)具有视觉障碍。这意味着,他们难以感知视觉内容。向这些学生提供基于文本的替代方式供他们使用。

全球 4% 的人口(北美地区 4% 的学生)具有肢体残疾。这些学生有肌肉和运动控制方面的障碍,很难使用相关技术。对您的内容进行格式化,提供辅助技术和键盘导航,从而实现更简单的网络内容导航。

全球 5% 的人口(北美地区不到 1% 的学生)具有听觉障碍。这意味着,他们难以感知听觉内容,需要替代方式。提供字幕、脚本和其他替代方式供他们使用。

令人震惊的是,全球 25% 的人口(北美地区 9% 的学生)具有认知障碍。这就是说,北美地区每 25 个新生中就有一个新生具有学习障碍。这些学生具有神经障碍,很难处理信息。建立灵活性非常重要。使用多种信息模式,并且打造整洁的体验。

来源

“Disabled World - Disability News & Information。”Disabled World。新段落,未注明出版日期,源自网络,2015 年9 月 11 日。

“WHO | 世界卫生组织。”WHO | 世界卫生组织。新段落,未注明出版日期,源自网络,2015 年9 月 11 日。

“快报:Students With Disabilities。”美国国家教育统计中心。新段落,未注明出版日期,源自网络,2015 年9 月 11 日。

“Statistics。”DO-IT。University of Washington (UW), n.d.源自网络,2015 年9 月 11 日。

“Special Education Compendium Statistics。”Disabilitycompendium.org。新段落,未注明出版日期,源自网络,2015 年9 月 11 日。

Accessibility in Education

On this page

    Text alternative for the following accessibility in education infographic

    Accessibility in education infographic

    Did you know that one billion people in the world have a mental or physical disability? Or that 12.9% of all students in North America have some form of disability?

    What does this mean for education?

    North American high school graduation rates for disabled students have risen 0.5% since 2011. 64% now earn a high school diploma in 4 years. Unfortunately, North American high school dropout rates have also risen 0.5% in as many years. 19.7% of students with a disability will drop out before completing high school.

    Most students choose not to disclose their disability when they enter higher education. That's 60 to 80% of North American undergrads and 9% of graduate students. Even so, there is a lot that we as Educators can do to help disabled students be successful.

    3% of the global population, less than 1% of students in North America, has a visual disability. This means that they have challenges perceiving visual content. Provide those students with text-based alternatives that they can consume.

    4% of the global population, 4% of students in North America, has a physical disability. These students have challenges with muscle and motor control, which makes using technology difficult. Format your content for assistive technology and keyboard navigation for simpler web content navigation.

    5% of the global population, less than 1% of students in North America, has a hearing disability. This means that they have challenges perceiving auditory content and need alternatives. Provide captions, transcripts, and other alternatives that they can consume.

    An overwhelming 25% of the global population, 9% of students in North America, has a cognitive disability. That is 1 in every 25 North American freshmen who have a learning disability. These students have neurological challenges processing information. It's important to build in flexibility. Use many modes of information and create a clutter-free experience.

    Sources

    "Disabled World - Disability News & Information." Disabled World. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Sept. 2015.

    "WHO | World Health Organization." WHO | World Health Organization. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Sept. 2015.

    "Fast Facts: Students With Disabilities." National Center for Education Statistics. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Sept. 2015.

    "Statistics." DO-IT. University of Washington (UW), n.d. Web. 11 Sept. 2015.

    "Special Education Compendium Statistics." Disabilitycompendium.org. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Sept. 2015.