SafeAssign 可将学生提交内容与一组学术论文进行比较,以标识出提交的文本和现有作品之间的重叠区域。

SafeAssign 既是一种有效的威慑工具,也是一种有效的教育工具。使用 SafeAssign 检查测试提交是否为原创,并提供机会帮助学生了解如何正确归属来源而不是进行改写。


支持的文件

SafeAssign 仅支持可转换为纯文本的文件类型,其中包括以下文件类型:DOCX、DOC、PPT、PPTX、PDF、TXT、ODT、RTF、HTML 和 HTM。电子表格文件不受支持。

SafeAssign 还接受 ZIP 文件,并可以处理上述任何类型的文件。

SafeAssign 会计算并显示提交中的附件总数,以及 SafeAssign 已处理的附件数。SafeAssign 只会针对符合支持文件类型的附件处理和创建 Originality Report。对于不支持的文件类型,SafeAssign Originality Report 会省略符合分数。


SafeAssign Originality Report

论文处理后,系统将生成一个报告,详细说明已提交的论文中与现有的来源相匹配的文本所占的百分比。该报告会显示返回匹配的已提交论文中各部分的可疑来源。如果论文是同一学生以前所提交作品的续篇,则您可从报告中删除匹配的源,然后再次对其进行处理。

仔细阅读报告,并调查是否正确归属了每个文本块。

详细了解 SafeAssign Originality Report


Blackboard Learn:原始课程视图

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于在作业中使用 SafeAssign 的“Ultra”帮助。

您可以使用 SafeAssign 对任何作业进行抄袭检查。

  1. 创建作业页面上,展开提交详细信息
  2. 选择使用 SafeAssign 检查提交内容是否存在抄袭情况
  3. 选择一个或两个选项(可选):
    • 允许学生查看其提交内容的 SafeAssign Originality Report。
    • 从 Institutional Database 或 Global Reference Database 中排除该作业的所有学生提交。
  4. 填写创建作业页面。
  5. 选择提交

创建使用 SafeAssign 的作业后,成绩中心内将自动创建一个成绩列。当作业准备好进行评分时,成绩中心单元格中将显示需要评分图标。可以从成绩中心为作业评分或从需要评分页面访问它们。

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于在作业和测试中使用 SafeAssign 的“Ultra”视频。


Blackboard Learn:Ultra 课程视图

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于使用 SafeAssign 的“原始”帮助。

您可以使用 SafeAssign 在 Ultra 课程视图中检查学生提交的作业和测试中是否可能存在抄袭。

  1. 在新评估或现有评估中,打开作业设置测试设置
  2. SafeAssign 下方,选择启用 Originality Report
  3. 选择使用 SafeAssign 检查提交内容是否存在剽窃
    • 为评估启用 SafeAssign 后,您还可以允许学生查看 Originality Report。如果您允许多次尝试,则系统会为学生提交的每次尝试生成一份 Originality Report。
    • 选择是否排除来自 Institutional Database 和 Global Reference Database 的提交内容。
  4. 关闭层。您的更改已保存!

启用 Originality Report 后,创造性列会添加到提交页面。扫描该列表,可快速确定哪些提交内容可能包含抄袭的资料。

您可以随时启用 SafeAssign Originality Report,即使在学生完成内容提交之后也是如此,但提交内容只能在启用 SafeAssign 时进行检查。在您启用该设置之前收到的提交内容不会使用 SafeAssign 进行检查。

当启用了匿名评分时,SafeAssign 结果会隐藏。在您发布成绩并显示姓名后,可以查看 SafeAssign 结果和 Originality Report。


Blackboard Open LMS

目前,SafeAssign 插件仅与 Moodle 的作业活动兼容。要创建 SafeAssign 作业,请先创建作业。在作业设置中,选择您的 SafeAssign 设置。

SafeAssign 是用于 Blackboard Open LMS 的付费附加模块。如果您在作业设置中未看到 SafeAssign 抄袭插件选项,请与您的站点管理员联系。

  • 检查提交内容是否存在抄袭情况:选择此选项可通过 SafeAssign 检查学生提交内容。
  • 允许学生查看 Originality Report:选择此选项可允许学生查看作业提交的 Originality Report。此选项提供报告链接。
  • 排除来自 Institutional Database 和 Global Reference Database 的提交内容:选择此选项可允许未在数据库中注册的提交内容仍由 SafeAssign 处理。当教师允许在特定作业中重新提交时,这就避免了提交文件被标记为抄袭。

完成后,选择保存并返回课程保存并显示

多角色作业

Moodle 允许为用户分配多个角色。SafeAssign 无法将多个用户与和教师及学生相同的 ID 关联起来,因此,通过 SafeAssign 进行的多角色提交不受支持。为了解决这个问题,SafeAssign 插件将不会分析多角色用户提交并会向对方发出相关警告。

可在系统级别设置具有角色分配的用户:管理者、课程创建者等角色以教师形式默认添加到每个 SafeAssign 课程中。


多个附件和多次尝试

SafeAssign 将对单个测试的多次尝试视为同一学生对同一测试所做的提交。SafeAssign 不会将当前尝试的内容与先前提交的内容做对比检查。您可以在相应尝试旁边查看每个 Originality Report。

如果学生在一个测试中包含多个附件,则系统会将其列在 SafeAssign 面板的 Originality Report 部分中。选择一个文件名链接,可在新窗口中查看该文件的文本以及详细的文本匹配分析。


关于排除提交选项

创建作业时,SafeAssign 设置包含一个用于“排除提交”的选项。此选项允许教师创建作业,其中不包括 Institutional Database 或 Global Reference Database 中任何学生提交的内容。与其他评估设置一样,此选项将可在作业创建后即时编辑。如果您在较晚日期更改此选项,则新提交将采用新的设置。使用案例示例:

教师希望单个作业支持非最终提交,然后支持单个“最终”提交。SafeAssign 应仅将最终提交包括在 Institutional Database 中,供日后提交时参考。

您可以按以下步骤完成此使用案例:

  1. 创建具有多次尝试的作业,并启用 SafeAssign 和“排除提交”选项。
  2. 学生提交自己的“草稿”作业,提交内容不会包括在机构或全球数据库中。
  3. 当需要最终提交时,您将禁用“排除提交”选项。
  4. 学生提交自己的最终作业,并且提交随后会包括在机构或全球数据库中。

SafeAssign compares student submissions against a set of academic papers to identify areas of overlap between the submitted text and existing works.

SafeAssign is effective as both a deterrent and an educational tool. Use SafeAssign to review test submissions for originality and create opportunities to help students identify how to properly attribute sources rather than paraphrase.


Supported files

SafeAssign only supports file types that are convertible to plain text, which includes these file types: DOCX, DOC, PPT, PPTX, PDF, TXT, ODT, RTF, HTML, and HTM. Spreadsheet files aren't supported.

SafeAssign also accepts ZIP files and processes files that match any of these file types.

SafeAssign counts and displays the total number of attachments in a submission, as well as the number of attachments processed by SafeAssign. SafeAssign only processes and creates Originality Reports for attachments that match the supported file types. For unsupported file types, the SafeAssign Originality Report omits a matching score.


SafeAssign Originality Reports

After a paper is processed, a report is generated detailing the percentage of text in the submitted paper that matches existing sources. The report shows the suspected sources for each section of the submitted paper that returns a match. You can delete matching sources from the report and process it again if the paper is a continuation of a previously submitted work by the same student.

Read the report carefully and investigate whether each block of text is properly attributed.

More on SafeAssign Originality Reports


Blackboard Learn: Original Course View

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about using SafeAssign in assignments.

You can use SafeAssign plagiarism checking for any of your assignments.

  1. On the Create Assignment page, expand Submission Details.
  2. Select Check submissions for plagiarism using SafeAssign.
  3. Optionally, select one or both options:
    • Allow students to view the SafeAssign Originality Reports on their submissions.
    • Exclude all student submissions for this assignment from the Institutional or Global Reference Databases.
  4. Complete the Create Assignment page.
  5. Select Submit.

When you create an assignment using SafeAssign, a grade column is automatically created in the Grade Center. When the assignment is ready for grading, the Needs Grading icon appears in the Grade Center cell. Grade assignments from the Grade Center or access them from the Needs Grading page.

Watch a video about SafeAssign

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" video about using SafeAssign in assignments and tests.

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Use SafeAssign in Assignments provides the step by steps for using SafeAssign in the Original Course View.


Blackboard Learn: Ultra Course View

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about using SafeAssign.

You can use SafeAssign to check for potential plagiarism in student submissions for both assignments and tests in the Ultra Course View.

  1. Open Assignment Settings or Test Settings in a new or existing assessment.
  2. Under SafeAssign, select Enable Originality Report.
  3. Select Check submissions for plagiarism with SafeAssign.
    • When you enable SafeAssign for the assessment, you can also allow students to view the Originality Report. If you allow multiple attempts, an Originality Report is generated for each attempt a student submits.
    • Choose whether to exclude submissions from the institutional and Global Reference Databases.
  4. Close the layer. Your changes are saved!

When you enable the Originality Report, an Originality column is added to the Submissions page. Scan the list to quickly determine which submissions may include plagiarized material.

You can enable the SafeAssign Originality Report any time, even after students have started their submissions, but submissions are only checked when SafeAssign is enabled. Submissions received before you enable the setting aren't checked with SafeAssign.

SafeAssign results are hidden while anonymous grading is enabled. After you post grades and names are shown, you can view the SafeAssign results and the Originality Reports.

ULTRA: Watch a video about SafeAssign

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" video about using SafeAssign in assignments.

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Use SafeAssign in Assignments provides the step by steps for using SafeAssign in the Ultra Course View.


Blackboard Open LMS

At this time, the SafeAssign plugin is only compatible with Moodle's Assignment Activity. To create a SafeAssign assignment, start by creating an assignment. In the assignment settings, choose your SafeAssign settings.

SafeAssign is a paid add-on for Blackboard Open LMS. Please contact your site administrator if you do not see the SafeAssign Plagiarism plugin options in assignment settings.

  • Check submissions for plagiarism: Select this option to check the student submissions with SafeAssign.
  • Allow students to view originality report: Select this option to allow students to view their originality report from the assignment submission. This option provides a link to the report.
  • Exclude submissions from institutional and Global Reference Database: Select this option to allow submissions to still be processed by SafeAssign but not registered in databases. This avoids submission files being marked as plagiarized when teachers allow re-submissions in a specific assignment.

Select Save and return to course or Save and display when finished.

Multiple role assignments

Moodle allows users to have more than one role assigned to them. SafeAssign can't associate multiple users with the same ID as instructors and students, so multirole submissions with SafeAssign don't work. To fix this, the SafeAssign plugin will not analyze a multi-role user submission and will warn them about it.

Users with role assignments set at the system level: Manager, Course creator, etc., are added by default to each SafeAssign course as instructors.


Multiple attachments and attempts

SafeAssign recognizes multiple attempts for an individual test as submitted by the same student for the same test. SafeAssign doesn't check the contents of the current attempt against content from previous submissions. You can view each Originality Report next to the corresponding attempt.

If a student includes more than one attachment with a test, they are listed in the Originality Report section of the SafeAssign panel. Select a file name link to view the file's text in a new window, along with detailed text matching analysis.


About the exclude submissions option

The SafeAssign settings have an option to "exclude submissions" when you create the assignment. This option allows instructors to create assignments that don't include any student submissions in the Institutional or Global Reference Databases. Like other assessment settings, this option will be point-in-time and editable after assignment creation. If you change the option at a later date, new submissions will honor the new state of the setting. An example use case:

An instructor wants a single assignment to allow non-final submissions, then a single "final" submission. Only the final submission should be included by SafeAssign in the Institutional database for reference against later submissions.

You can accomplish this use case with these steps:

  1. Create an assignment with multiple attempts, SafeAssign, and the "exclude submissions" options enabled.
  2. Students submit their "draft" works, and submissions aren't included in the Institutional or Global Databases.
  3. When the final submission is expected, you disable the "exclude submissions" option.
  4. Students submit their final works, and submissions are then included in the Institutional or Global Databases.