SafeAssign Originality Report 提供有关学生提交的作业与现有来源之间的匹配情况的详细信息。教师和学生都可以使用该报告来检查提交内容的创造性,并提供机会了解如何正确注明引述来源而非借用改写。创建作业并选择使用 SafeAssign 时,教师可以决定是否允许学生查看报告结果。

该报告可标识所有匹配的文本块。教师和学生需要确定对匹配文本的引用是否适当。仔细审查每个匹配,可防止由于引用标准存在差异而出现检测错误。

Originality Report 会显示可能来源的列表,并且每个来源都会以不同的颜色突出显示。该报告最多可用 30 种不同的颜色来代表 30 个不同的来源。

Originality Report 信息根据显示报告的屏幕(如 iPad® 或 iPhone®)进行调整。


查找报告

Blackboard Learn:原始课程视图

SafeAssign 报告处理完成后,您可以在为作业评分页面上访问它。可以从成绩中心或需要评分页面访问为作业评分页面。

在“成绩中心”内,找到您启用 SafeAssign 的作业。当学生完成其提交后,您会看到“需要评分”图标。打开单元格的菜单,然后选择尝试。

为作业评分页面上,评分边栏中会显示 SafeAssign 区域。处理报告时,会显示以下说明:正在生成报告...

当报告可供查看时,会在评分边栏中显示百分比。展开 SafeAssign 链接,然后选择查看 Originality Report,在新窗口中查看结果。

Blackboard Learn:Ultra 课程视图

查看 SafeAssign Originality Report,确保学生正确引用了来源。

SafeAssign 会在学生提交尝试后不久生成 Originality Report,即使您尚未发布成绩也是如此。SafeAssign Originality Report 显示在提交内容旁边,以便您在上下文中查看分析。这是报告的结果预览,包括以下三个部分:总体风险总体文本匹配Originality Report

  • 整体风险显示尝试是存在抄袭低风险、中等风险还是高风险。风险级别是根据尝试所涉及的平均文本匹配范围确定的。

    详细了解如何解释 SafeAssign 分数

  • 整体文本匹配显示尝试中各段文本(包括文件附件)的平均和最高文本匹配。想要详细了解?在 Originality Report 部分选择任一个项目,可查看完整报告。
  • Originality Report 显示您提交的每项内容(包括问题和附件)中潜在匹配文本的百分比。在列表中选择任一个条目,可在新窗口中查看结果。

Blackboard Open LMS

SafeAssign 与 Blackboard Open LMS 3.3 及更高版本配合使用,且与 Moodle 的现有防抄袭插件框架相集成。SafeAssign 为学生提交内容生成的总体创造性分数和指向 SafeAssign 生成的 Originality Report 的链接会显示在 Moodle Assignment Grader 和 Open Grader 中。


新报告布局

新的 Originality Report 当前仅适用于 Moodle/Blackboard Open LMS 环境。它将在即将推出的 Blackboard Learn 中提供。

SafeAssign Originality Report 分为以下三个部分:

  • 报告摘要
  • 引文
  • 提交

报告摘要

报告摘要显示在报告的顶部面板中。选择访问报告摘要可查看论文中不当引文的总体风险,包括匹配或类似文本的百分比。  如果学生包括了多个附件,则此类附件会随报告信息一起显示。 

引文

报告右侧面板中列出与所提交论文文本匹配的来源。选择来源类型可详细了解匹配。对于每个来源,系统会显示一个与提交中突出显示的文本相对应的数字。在来源旁边,您可以选择突出显示匹配来切换突出显示。您还可以选择打开匹配源,在新窗口中访问匹配的源文本。

如果另一个学生的论文列为引文,则提交内容与另一个机构关联,且您可能因隐私法而无法对其查看。

从课程中删除学生的提交内容时,该内容会保留在数据库中,并且可用于在未来检测与其他学生提交内容的匹配。在此情况下,Originality Report 中会列出“不存在的论文”作为源。SafeAssign 会检测匹配项,但是您无法打开源来比较匹配项,因为源已被删除。

当您缩减查看区域的宽度时,此信息会显示在顶部。

在 Blackboard Learn 原始课程视图中,您可以使用 URL Adder 工具,建议在 Originality Report 中尚未标记或引用的其他 SafeAssign 网页和网站。

提交

提交显示在报告的左侧面板中。系统会标识所有匹配的文本块。每个来源都有一种特定于该来源的颜色,30 个不同的来源最多有 30 种不同的颜色。与来源匹配的文本以来源颜色突出显示,并以一个数字进行标示。在引文 面板中,您可以选择突出显示匹配,一次性打开和关闭所有来源的来源突出显示。您可以只针对一个引文打开和关闭突出显示。选择引文旁边的删除突出显示匹配

选择某一匹配的文本块可显示与原始来源及该文本块或句子复制自该来源的概率有关的信息。

其他选项和信息

提交下方,您可以查找相应详细信息,如字数、提交日期及提交和附件的唯一标识符。

您可以查看可打印版本的 Originality Report。对于那些依靠辅助技术的用户,该可打印版本是最有效的报告视图。在页面顶部,选择打印可查看可打印版本。下载 PDF 并通过电子邮件发送给其他人。


原有报告布局

SafeAssign Originality Report 分为以下三个部分:

  • 报告信息
  • 引文
  • 文稿文本

如果您需要更多空间来查看论文文本,则可以单击向右箭头收起右侧面板。突出显示颜色会保留在折叠视图中。

报告信息

报告信息会显示在报告的右侧面板中。当您缩减查看区域的宽度时,此信息会显示在顶部。您可以查看有关论文的数据,例如匹配文本百分比、字数和提交时间。如果您包括了多个附件,它们会随报告信息一起显示。您也可以选择查看可打印版本。对于那些依靠辅助技术才能访问 Blackboard Learn 的用户,该可打印版本是最有效的报告视图。在页面顶部,选择打印可查看可打印版本。下载 PDF 并通过电子邮件发送给其他人。

引文

报告右侧面板中列出包含与所提交论文文本相符之文本的来源。如果另一个学生的论文列为引文,则提交内容与另一个机构关联,且您可能因隐私法而无法对其查看。

从课程中删除学生的提交内容时,该内容会保留在数据库中,并且可用于在未来检测与其他学生提交内容的匹配。在此情况下,Originality Report 中会列出“不存在的论文”作为源。SafeAssign 会检测匹配项,但是您无法打开源来比较匹配项,因为源已被删除。

文稿文本

提交的论文会显示在报告的左侧面板中。系统会标识所有匹配的文本块。每个来源都有一种特定于该来源的颜色,30 个不同的来源最多有 30 种不同的颜色。与来源匹配的文本以来源颜色突出显示,并以一个数字进行标示。在右侧面板中,您可以选择显示/隐藏所有突出显示,一次性打开和关闭所有来源的来源突出显示。您可以只针对一个引文打开和关闭突出显示。选择引文旁边的删除突出显示显示突出显示

选择某一匹配的文本块可显示与原始来源及该文本块或句子复制自该来源的概率有关的信息。


多个附件和多次尝试

SafeAssign 将对单个作业的多次尝试视为同一学生对同一作业所做的提交。SafeAssign 不会将当前尝试的内容与先前提交的内容做对比检查。

如果学生在一个作业中包含了多个附件,则其会在报告中列出。选择文件名链接可在左侧面板中查看文件的文本,在右侧面板中查看其字数。


解释 SafeAssign 分数

符合分数的句子表示两个短语具有相同意义的概率百分比。此数字反映了这两个短语偶然相似的概率的互补数。例如,分数 90% 表示这两个短语意义相同的概率为 90%。它们偶然相似的概率为 10%,而这并不是因为提交的论文包含现有来源中的内容(无论是否正确注明了引述来源)。

总体 SafeAssign 分数将指示提交论文包含与现有来源的匹配的概率。此分数只是一种警告指示。请复查论文以了解是否正确归属了匹配。

  • 低:分数低于15%:这类论文通常包含部分引用和少量与其他文档匹配的常用短语或文本块。通常,这类论文不需要进一步分析,因为没有任何抄袭证据。
  • 中:分数在 15% 和 40%之间:这类论文包含大量引用或释义的资料,或者包含抄袭的内容。请复查这类论文以确定对匹配文本的引用是否适当。
  • 高:分数高于40%:表示这类论文中的文本复制自其他来源的可能性非常高。这类论文包含过量引用或释义的文本,需要对这类论文进行复查,以确定是否为抄袭。

A SafeAssign Originality Report provides detailed information about the matches found between a student's submitted work and existing sources. Both instructors and students can use the report to review submissions for originality and create opportunities to identify how to properly attribute sources rather than paraphrase. When instructors create an assignment and choose to use SafeAssign, they determine if students can see the results of the report.

The report identifies all matching blocks of text. Instructors and their students need to determine if the matching text is properly referenced. Investigating each match prevents detection errors due to differences in citing standards.

The Originality Report displays the list of potential sources, and each source is highlighted in a different color. The report can display up to 30 colors to represent 30 different sources.

Originality Report information adapts to the screen it appears on, such as an iPad® or iPhone®.


Find the report

Blackboard Learn: Original Course View

When a SafeAssign report has finished processing, you can access it on the Grade Assignment page. Access the Grade Assignment page from the Grade Center or the Needs Grading page.

In the Grade Center, locate the assignment where you enabled SafeAssign. When students have made their submissions, you see the needs grading icon. Open the cell's menu and select the attempt.

On the Grade Assignment page, a SafeAssign section appears in the grading sidebar. While the report is processing, the following statement appears: Report in progress...

When the report is ready to view, a percentage appears in the grading sidebar. Expand the SafeAssign link and select View Originality Report to view the results in a new window.

Blackboard Learn: Ultra Course View

View the SafeAssign Originality Report to ensure students properly cited their sources.

SafeAssign generates an Originality Report shortly after a student submits an attempt, even before you post grades. The SafeAssign Originality Report appears next to the submission so you can view the analysis in context. This is a preview of the report's results and includes three sections: Overall Risk, Overall Text Matching, and Originality Reports.

  • Overall Risk shows whether the attempt is a low, medium, or high risk for plagiarism. The risk level is determined based on the average text matching range the attempt falls in.

    More on interpreting SafeAssign scores

  • Overall Text Matching shows the average and highest text match for the pieces of the attempt, including file attachments. Want to dive in? Select any of the items in the Originality Reports section to view the full reports.
  • Originality Reports shows you the percent of potential matching text for each piece of your submission, including questions and attachments. Select any of the entries in the list to view the results in a new window.

Blackboard Open LMS

SafeAssign works with Blackboard Open LMS 3.3 and above and integrates with Moodle's established plagiarism plugin framework. SafeAssign's overall Originality Score for a student's submission and a link to the Originality Report generated by SafeAssign appear in Moodle's Assignment Grader and the Open Grader.

SafeAssign Originality Score in Assignment Grader

SafeAssign Originality Score in Open Grader


New report layout

The new Originality Report is currently only available for Moodle/Blackboard Open LMS environments. It will be available in Blackboard Learn in an upcoming release.

A SafeAssign Originality Report is divided into three areas:

  • Report Summary
  • Citations
  • Submission

Report Summary

Report Summary appears in the top panel of the report. Select Access Report Summary to view the Overall Risk of improper citations in the paper, including the percent of matching or similar text. If the student included multiple attachments, they appear with the report information.

Citations

Sources that matches the submitted paper's text are listed in the right panel of the report. Select the source type to learn more about the match. For each source, a number appears which corresponds with the highlighted text in the submission. Next to the source, you can select Highlight match to toggle highlighting. You can also select Open match source to visit the matching source text in a new window.

If Another student's paper is listed as a citation, the submission is associated with another institution and you may not be able to view it due to privacy laws.

When a student's submission is deleted from a course, the content remains in the database and can be used to detect future matches for other student submissions. A "non-existent paper" is listed as a source in the Originality Report in this case. SafeAssign detects a match, but you can't open the source to compare matches because the source has been deleted.

When you reduce the width of the viewing area, this information appears at the top.

In Blackboard Learn Original Course View, you can suggest to SafeAssign additional webpages and websites that haven't been flagged or referenced in Originality Reports with the URL Adder tool.

Submission

The submission appears in the left panel of the report. All matching blocks of text are identified. Each source has a color specific to the source—up to 30 unique colors for 30 different sources. Text matching a source is highlighted in the source color and identified with a number. In the Citations panel, you can select Highlight match to turn source highlighting off and on for all sources at one time. You can turn the highlighting off and on for only one citation. Select Remove or Highlight match next to a citation.

Select a matching block of text to display information about the original source and the probability that the block or sentence was copied from the source.

Additional options and information

Below the Submission, you can find details such as Word Count, submission date, and the unique identifiers for the submission and attachment.

You can view a printable version of the Originality Report. This printable version is the most effective view of the report for users who rely on assistive technology. At the top of the page, select Print to view the printable version. Download the PDF to email to others.


Older report layout

A SafeAssign Originality Report is divided into three areas:

  • Report information
  • Citations
  • Manuscript text

If you need more room for viewing the paper's text, you can collapse the right panel with the right-pointing arrow. The highlighting colors remain in the collapsed view.

Report information

Report information appears in the right panel of the report. When you reduce the width of the viewing area, this information appears at the top. You can view data about the paper, such as the percent of matching text, word count, and when it was submitted. If you included multiple attachments, they appear with the report information. You also have an option for viewing a printable version. This printable version is the most effective view of the report for users who rely on assistive technology to access Blackboard Learn. At the top of the page, select Print to view the printable version. Download the PDF to email to others.

Citations

The sources that include text that matches the submitted paper's text are listed in the right panel of the report. If Another student's paper is listed as a citation, the submission is associated with another institution and you may not be able to view it due to privacy laws.

When a student's submission is deleted from a course, the content remains in the database and can be used to detect future matches for other student submissions. A "non-existent paper" is listed as a source in the Originality Report in this case. SafeAssign detects a match, but you can't open the source to compare matches because the source has been deleted.

Manuscript text

The submitted paper appears in the left panel of the report. All matching blocks of text are identified. Each source has a color specific to the source—up to 30 unique colors for 30 different sources. Text matching a source is highlighted in the source color and identified with a number. In the right panel, you can select Show/Hide All Highlighting to turn source highlighting off and on for all sources at one time. You can turn the highlighting off and on for only one citation. Select Remove or Show Highlighting next to a citation.

Select a matching block of text to display information about the original source and the probability that the block or sentence was copied from the source.


Multiple attachments and attempts

SafeAssign recognizes multiple attempts for an individual assignment as submitted by the same student for the same assignment. SafeAssign doesn't check the contents of the current attempt against content from previous submissions.

If the student includes more than one attachment with an assignment, they are listed in the report. Select a file name link to view the file's text in the left panel and view its word count in the right panel.


Interpret SafeAssign scores

Sentence matching scores represent the percentage probability that two phrases have the same meaning. This number reflects the reciprocal to the probability that these two phrases are similar by chance. For example, a score of 90 percent means that there is a 90 percent probability that these two phrases are the same. There is a 10 percent probability that they are similar by chance and not because the submitted paper includes content from the existing source—whether appropriately attributed or not.

The overall SafeAssign score indicates the probability that the submitted paper contains matches to existing sources. This score is a warning indicator only. Review papers to see if the matches are properly attributed.

  • Low: Scores below 15 percent: These papers typically include some quotes and few common phrases or blocks of text that match other documents. Typically, these papers don't require further analysis as there is no evidence of plagiarism.
  • Medium: Scores between 15 percent and 40 percent: These papers include extensive quoted or paraphrased material, or they include plagiarism. Review these papers to determine if the matching text is properly referenced.
  • High: Scores over 40 percent: A very high probability exists that text in these papers was copied from other sources. These papers include quoted or paraphrased text in excess, and need to be reviewed for plagiarism.