您知道吗,全球有 10 亿人具有精神或肢体方面的残疾。或者说,北美地区有 12.9% 的学生具有某种形式的残疾。确保所有学生和社区成员都理解交流信息非常重要。

有关教育领域无障碍访问的详细信息


适用于所有交流的无障碍访问最佳实践

无论是电子邮件还是 Facebook,利用这些无障碍访问最佳实践都可轻松访问消息。

  • 简单写作。确保句子简短。尽可能使用 1-2 字节的字词或字词组合。使用缩写。使用 Hemmingway Editor 等工具确保文本的可读性。
  • 请勿使用单独的字体样式或颜色来指示重要性!当您需要提供一个重要的视觉提示时,请确保使用无障碍替代方式。如果十分重要,则在句子末尾使用感叹号。屏幕阅读器会通过相应语调来表达感叹号和问号。这表示工具不会阅读“问号”,而是在大声阅读问题时借用询问语调。
  • 在图像中提供替换文本。您无需描述“的图像”,因为辅助工具已经知道这是一张图像。尽量使用简洁、清楚的描述性文字。请勿为每张图像使用相同的替换文本,例如“说明相关文本的图像”。这毫无意义并且会导致杂乱。
  • 无法添加替换文本时,添加图像标题。如果无法为图像添加替代文本,请确保您的文本不依靠图像便可传达所有信息。
  • 使链接具有描述性。每个链接都应描述用户单击链接将找到的内容。避免使用通用语句,例如“单击此处”或“查看详情”。Web 地址或 URL 不会被视为信息,因此不得使用。而不是提供文本说明。
  • 使附件可无障碍访问。遵循相同的最佳实践,使附件可无障碍访问。如需了解详细信息,请参阅 Blackboard 的无障碍访问
  • 为视频提供隐藏式字幕或脚本。如果您的视频不含隐藏式字幕,请提供指向脚本的链接。
  • 尝试聆听消息,确保其听起来正确无误。使用大多数设备上提供的文字转语音工具聆听消息,然后再进行发送。

社交媒体中的无障碍访问

社交媒体不一定可无障碍访问。屏幕阅读器用户很难进行导航,而且内容不一定使用标题、图像替代文本或视频字幕。这并不意味着您无法使用社交媒体。这是您的受众面临的情况。确保您的内容尽可能实现无障碍访问,以适用于所有受众。

在使用 Facebook 或 Twitter 时,遵循适用于所有内容的 无障碍访问最佳实践及相关提示。

Facebook

  • 为您发布的所有照片和图像提供替代文本。
  • 在发布视频时,提供指向脚本的链接。

Twitter

  • 向受众告知您的 Twitter 中的内容。如果您的 Twitter 中包含照片、视频或音频,请在 Twitter 的开始处使用以下前缀。
    • 照片:[PIC]
    • 视频:[VIDEO]
    • 音频:[AUDIO]
  • 在 Twitter 的结尾放置井号标记和说明。
  • 在井号标记中使用驼峰字。对井号标记中的每个词采用首字母大写的形式。例如,#BlackboardAccessibility
  • 避免使用在屏幕阅读器阅读时可能听起来奇怪的文字。

Create Accessible Messages

On this page

    Did you know that one billion people in the world have a mental or physical disability? Or that 12.9% of all students in North America have some form of disability? It's important to make sure your communications are understood by all of your students and community members.

    More on accessibility in education


    Accessibility best practices for all communication

    It doesn't matter if it's email or Facebook, making your messages accessible is easy with these accessibility best practices.

    • Write plainly. Keep your sentences short. Use words, or combination of words, with 1-2 syllables when possible. Use contractions. Use tools like Hemmingway Editor to measure the readability of your text.
    • Don't use font styles or color alone to indicate importance! When you need to give a strong visual cue, make sure that you use an accessible alternative. Use an exclamation mark at the end of your sentence if it is important. Screen readers intonate exclamation and question marks. This means the tool will not read "question mark"-instead, it will lend a questioning tone as it reads a question aloud.
    • Include alt text in your images. You don't need to say "Image of" as the assistive tools already know it is an image. Be concise, clear, and descriptive. Do not use the same alt text for every image, such as "Image illustrating associated text." It is meaningless and adds clutter.
    • Add image captions when you can't add alt text. If you can't add alt text to your images, make sure your text conveys all of the information without relying on the image.
    • Make links descriptive. Every link should describe what the user can expect to find when they click it. Avoid using generic phrases such as "click here" or "see more." Web addresses or URLs are not considered informative and should not be used. Instead make the text descriptive.
    • Make your attachments accessible. Follow the same best practices to make your attachments accessible. To learn more, see Accessibility at Blackboard.
    • Include closed captioning or transcripts with your videos. Provide a link to transcripts, if your video doesn't include closed captioning.
    • Try listening to your message to make sure it sounds right. Use text-to-speech tools available on most devices to listen to your message before sending it.

    Accessibility in social media

    Social media is not always accessible. It's challenging for screen reader users to navigate and content doesn't always use headings, alt text for images, or video captioning. This doesn't mean that you can't use social media. It's where your audience is. Make sure your content is accessible as possible to reach your whole audience.

    Follow the accessibility best practices for all of your content and these tips when using Facebook or Twitter.

    Facebook

    • Provide a text alternative for all photos and images you post.
    • Provide a link to transcripts when posting videos.

    Twitter

    • Tell your audience what is in your tweet. If your tweet has photos, video, or audio, use these prefixes at the beginning of your tweet.
      • Photos: [PIC]
      • Videos: [VIDEO]
      • Audio: [AUDIO]
    • Place hashtags and mentions at the end of your tweet.
    • Use camel case in hashtags. Initial cap the first letter of each word in your hashtag. For example, #BlackboardAccessibility
    • Avoid text jargon that may sound strange when read by a screen reader.