Blackboard Help

Table of Contents

New Content Management Features

Last Modified
13:06, 11 Jan 2013

Set Default Course Files Properties for Course Copy, Export, and Archive

Administrators can now control the default setting for copying course files or linking to course files during a course copy, export, or archive. This setting only affects courses created after upgrading to SP10.

Copy Course File Attachments

To cut down the number of file attachments that are duplicated during a course copy, a new option has been added to the course copy function for course files. Previously the entire course files directory was included in the package when users elected to include copies of course files. With this new option, users can decide to take the entire folder of files or only those files that are actually linked to course content.

File attachment selections include:

  • Copy links to course files: No copies of linked files are included in the copy. The copied course will have the same set of links and those links will point back to the original location of the link defined in the origin course

  • Copy links and copies of the content: This will only make copies of linked files. Files within the course’s home folder that are not linked to any content within the course are not included in the copy.

  • Copy links and copies of the content (include entire Course home folder): This will make copies of all files in the course’s home folder whether those files are linked to course content or not.

To learn more, see Course Files.

New User Warnings for Deleting or Moving Linked Folders or Files

Two new warnings help users avoid inadvertently creating broken links to files in their courses.

A warning occurs when a user deletes a folder that is directly linked to course content or that contains files that are linked to course content.

A warning occurs when a user moves a file linked to a course content, a folder that is directly linked to course content or that contains files that are linked to course count, to the recycling bin. This helps prevent broken links because most users are unaware that the recycling bin may be set to automatically purge. 

Back to Top
Was this article helpful?
Powered by
Powered by MindTouch®