Administrators can set the amount of time files are retained in recycle bins, as well as manage recycle bin security.
Schedule recycle bin retention and purging
To better manage the growth of the Content Collection and related hardware costs, administrators can define a system-wide policy for regularly scheduled purges of recycle bins. Administrators can define both the number of days that deleted files will be kept in the recycle bin and the specific time of day to run the actual purge process.
The bbconfig.cs.delete.blob.wait.days parameter in the bb-config.properties file impacts when files are deleted from the Recycle Bin. When you empty the Recycle Bin in the Content Collection, the file isn’t removed from the system until the time specified in this parameter passes. Deleted files will be kept in the recycle bins for the number of days specified and then purged at the time of day specified. After that time elapses, the purged files can't be recovered.
Even if recycle bins have been disabled for a content area, the scheduled purge of recycle bin files continues to remove files that have passed their retention time in both shared and individual bins.
Set the recycle bin view policy
The Recycle Bin View Policy setting enables administrators to control default read access to recycle bin folders. Administrators can allow only the owner of the parent folder or both the owner and the user who is deleting the item to view the contents. Regardless which option is selected, users retain existing permissions on the item being deleted but do not gain permissions on other files. This setting is especially useful in cases where many users share a common content area, such as the institution folder. In these cases, it may be beneficial to define an explicit set of users.
If your institution enabled recycle bins for users, courses, or organizations content areas in Blackboard Learn prior to release 9.1, note that this setting applies differently to shared recycle bin folders than to individual recycle bin folders. When the Recycle Bin View Policy is set to No Special Permissions, shared recycle bins are visible to all users, while individual recycle bins are visible only to the owner of the recycle bin and to users with explicit permissions on that folder.
Configure recycle bin settings
- On the Administrator Panel, under Content Management, select Content Area Management.
- Select Recycle Bin Settings.
- In the File Retention Time field, set the number of days that files will be kept in the recycle bins. After that time elapses and the recycle bin is purged, the purged files cannot be recovered.
- In the Time to Begin Recycle Bin Purge field, select the clock icon to select the hour at which recycle bins will be purged each day of items beyond the File Retention Time. Specify a time when activity on your system is at a minimum.
- In the Recycle Bin View Policy field, select Read for Deleter and Owner or No special permissions.
If a large number of users share recycle bins, select No special permissions so that by default only the owner of the parent folder has read permission on the recycle bin folder. Additional users then can be granted permissions as a group or individually. If a small number of users share recycle bins, select Read for Deleter and Owner so the owner of the item and the user who is deleting the item have read permission on the recycle bin folder. Regardless of the option selected, users retain existing permissions on the item being deleted but do not gain permissions on other files.
- Select Submit.