Using the content editor, you can record video everywhere. Once installed and activated, a new icon is added to the content editor that controls your webcam. You can record video from the content editor and upload it directly to YouTube™. You must have a Google® account that is registered on YouTube. A YouTube channel is required to process and save your webcam videos.
Video Everywhere is not available when the content editor only allows limited text formatting, such as when sending email or creating groups.
If your Google account is not enabled for YouTube access, you will receive a prompt to open a new browser tab and log in to YouTube. After you log in to YouTube, create your YouTube channel to upload and store your videos. Navigate back to the Video Everywhere window and click Sign in to YouTube. Click Grant Access.
Thumbnail: A small image of the video is displayed. Users click on the thumbnail to view the video in a new window.
Your video appears in your content item. It takes a few minutes to encode the video so it may not play immediately. You might even receive a "This video is unavailable" message. Wait a few minutes and try again.
After you upload your video to YouTube, you can add closed captions and descriptive captions. Captions and transcripts help people who are deaf or who experience hearing impairments understand the audio track of your video. Captions also help people who speak different languages or have learning disabilities understand what is happening in your video.
After you upload your video, it will take between an hour and a day for YouTube's transcription tool to automatically save captions from the soundtrack of your video. On the YouTube tool bar, the Captions link appears when the captions are available. After the transcription is completed, you need to edit the captions to ensure correctness.
The most current and detailed instructions for adding transcripts, translations, and captions to videos posted on YouTube is available by clicking the help link in YouTube and searching for "captions."
By default, all videos are recorded under the Unlisted privacy setting. An unlisted video does not appear under YouTube searches and only users who know the link can access it. This does not guarantee complete privacy. The unlisted setting allows authors to publish and share videos easily without a need for specifically choosing who can view the video. If the users have access to where the video is published, they can view it. They can also click a YouTube logo on the video which allows users to view the unlisted video on the youTube.com site.
You can change the privacy setting to Private. From the video library, edit the video to make it private in the YouTube clip edit settings. If you make a video private, only the users you specifically include, and who have a Google account can view it. Private videos appear in the Video Everywhere library with a lock next to it. Private videos cannot be viewed by anyone other than the author and specified viewers.
To learn more about making your videos accessible, see Best Practice: Captioning Video Content.