Collaborate Session Settings Before and During

Session Settings lets you control what you want to allow in your session. Some settings you need to set before the session begins. Other settings you can change any time before or during the session.

Settings to make before sessions begin

While most settings can be changed any time during the session, you must set some settings before the session begins, if you want to use them.

  • Guest access
  • Default Attendee Role
  • Anonymize chat messages
  • Enable session telephony
  • Private chat settings
  • Profanity filter
  • Allow 250+ attendees to join

    If you don't see this large scale session option, it may not be available in your integration. Your administrator can set this for you.

Settings you can change during a session

Some settings you can change during the session. If you want to change settings during a session, open the Collaborate panel, select My Settings, and open Session Settings.

  • Only show moderator profile pictures
  • Participant permissions

Video: Session Settings in Blackboard Collaborate with the Ultra Experience

Watch a video about session settings

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Session settings shows you session settings that must be set before a session and settings you can change during a session.

Accés de convidat

Els convidats són assistents que no han d’iniciar la sessió o estar matriculats al curs per poder participar a la sessió. Els convidats no necessiten autenticar-se.

Quan permeteu l'accés de convidat, hi ha un enllaç de convidat disponible per a la sessió. Aquest enllaç és un enllaç públic que poden utilitzar i compartir els usuaris que hi tenen accés. Tothom qui tingui l’enllaç de convidat pot entrar a la sessió.

Més informació sobre l'accés de convidat

Collaborate Default Attendee Role

Default attendee role

By default, everyone joins the session as a participant. Session owners and course instructor join as a moderators. Use the Default Attendee Role menu to change the default for guests and students. 

You can't change the default during the session. But if there is no end date for the session, you can change the default before the next time you use it.

Make sure you understand the different roles and their permissions before making any a default.

More on roles and permissions

Configuració de l'enregistrament de la sessió

Configuració de l'enregistrament de la sessió

  • Permet baixar els enregistraments Si sou el propietari de la sessió, no cal que activeu aquesta opció per baixar els enregistraments. Els propietaris de la sessió, instructors del curs i administradors sempre poden baixar enregistraments. La casella de selecció Permet baixar els enregistraments permet que altres usuaris baixin l’enregistrament. Seleccioneu aquesta opció per permetre que assistents i estudiants baixin enregistraments.

    Podeu activar aquest paràmetre un cop hagi acabat la sessió. Si la sessió ha finalitzat, canvieu la data d’acabament de la sessió per la data actual o una data futura i seleccioneu Desa.

  • Fes que els missatges de xat siguin anònims: Els missatges de xat que es publiquin durant la sessió apareixen com a missatges anònims a l'enregistrament. Heu de planificar l’ús d’aquesta opció amb antelació i activar-la abans d’enregistrar la sessió. Quan l'enregistrament s’ha iniciat, ja no podreu canviar-ho. Aquesta opció no és reversible.

Collaborate Session Permissions

Show profile pictures for moderators only

If you want to keep your session secure and free from inappropriate profile pictures, only allow moderators to show theirs. If selected, participant profile pictures don't appear anywhere profile pictures are seen in the session. This includes in the Attendees list, chat, breakout groups, and on the main stage. The default avatar appears for participants instead.

Participant permissions

By default, all participant permissions are on for sessions with fewer than 250 participants. Participants can share share audio, video, post chat messages, and draw on whiteboards and files. Clear any check box to turn off the permission.

You can change participant permissions any time before or during the session. These settings turn the permission on or off for all participants. You can't change permissions for just one participant. If you want certain attendees to have different permissions, change their role.

Participant permissions don't change what moderators and presenters can do.

For larger sessions all participant permissions are off by default and can't be changed. To learn more, go to Settings in webinar mode.

Enable session telephony

Select Allow attendees to join the session using a telephone to let attendees dial into the session teleconference. Up to 25 attendees can call into a session from the phone. If the maximum number of dial-in attendees has been reached, nobody else can call in.

You can't change this setting during the session. If you want to let attendees dial in, select this check box before the session starts.

More on Collaborate teleconference

Private chat settings

Private chat between attendees is on by default but you can limit how it's used.

  • Participants can only chat with moderators: When selected, participants can only chat privately with moderators. If you don't select it, participants can chat privately with any body else in the session.

  • Moderators supervise all private chats: When selected, moderators can see everything that is said in private chat channels between attendees. An alert appears at the top of the private chat channel informing attendees that the chat is being supervised. If you don't select it, you don't see the private chat channels.

More on private chat

Filtre de blasfèmies del xat de Collaborate


Filtre de blasfèmies del xat

Si algú fa servir paraules inadequades al xat, les seves paraules es filtren tant en la sessió en directe com en l'enregistrament. Les paraules inadequades se substitueixen per una sèrie d'estrelles.

Es filtren els termes anglesos i castellans inadequats.

Per defecte, el filtre de blasfèmies no està activat. Podria ser que alguns termes no fossin inadequats en tots els contextos. Per exemple, es podrien filtrar alguns termes biològics que són adequats en una classe de biologia. La llista de termes inadequats és predeterminada i ara per ara no es pot canviar.

Collaborate Large Scale Session

Large scale session

By default, sessions support up to 250 attendees. You can set up your session to support up to 500 attendees. From the session's settings, select Allow 250+ attendees to join before the session begins.

If you don't see the large session option, check the session length. The session needs an end time and can't be more than 24 hours in length. 

If you still don't see this large scale session option, it may not be available in your integration. Your administrator can set this for you.

This option makes the session a webinar that supports up to 500 attendees. Not all features are available in webinar mode. These features are turned off:

  • Participant permissions: Participants can't share audio, video, post chat messages, or draw on whiteboards and files.

    Moderators can choose to turn chat on DURING a session. Moderator permissions don't change.

  • Breakout groups: Breakout groups aren't available while in webinar mode.

What if I want to let participants chat or use their audio?

If you want a single participant to share audio or video, post chat messages, or draw on whiteboards and files, promote the participant to presenter.

More on managing attendees