You can enroll instructors, students, teaching assistants, and other users individually into a course or use a batch file to enroll large groups.

Enroll users in a course

If you want to enroll multiple users in a course, enroll them in groups based on their course roles. You can select one role per set of users. For example, if a course has one or more instructors, enroll them first. Then, move on to students.

Optionally, you can enroll all users with a role of Student and then edit individual users to change their course roles. For example, if you want to enroll 23 students, 1 instructor, and 1 teaching assistant, you can enroll all 25 users with the role of Student. Then, edit the two users to change their roles to Instructor and Teaching Assistant.

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course.
  3. On the Courses page, open the course's menu and select Enrollments.
  4. On the Enrollments page, select Enroll Users.
  5. On the Add Enrollments page, if you know the users' exact usernames, type them in the Username box separated by commas.

    If you don't know the usernames, select Browse to search for users. Select the check box for each user to enroll, then select Submit.

  6. In the Role menu, select a course role for this group of users, such as Instructor. The role selected applies to this course only. Your institution can create custom roles.
  7. Define the Enrollment Availability for this group of users. To enroll users but make the course unavailable to them, select No. To enroll users and make the course available to them immediately, select Yes. If you use the Ultra experience, you may override a user's course availability.
  8. Select Submit.

When you merge a course into a single master course, its students are enrolled automatically in the merged master course. However, when students enter the course, they'll see only the course ID of the child course they were originally enrolled in. To learn more about merging courses, see Merge and Separate Courses.


Change a user's role for a course

You can change a user's role in a course at any time. For example, if an instructor needs an additional assistant during the term, you can change a user's role from Student to Teaching Assistant for that course.

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course.
  3. On the Courses page, open the course's menu and select Enrollments.
  4. On the Enrollments page, open the username's menu and select Edit.
  5. On the Edit Enrollments page, select a new role from the Role menu. The role selected applies to this course only.
  6. Select Submit.

You can't currently designate a user an observer in the Ultra experience for both course views: Ultra and Original courses.

List the users enrolled in a course

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course.
  3. On the Courses page, open the course's menu and select Enrollments. The list of enrolled users appears.
  4. From this page, you can send an email to a user by selecting the user's email address. Your default email program opens a new message addressed to this user.
  5. Access a user's menu to perform other actions:
    • Change Password: Change a user's password. Provide and verify the password, then select Submit.
    • Course Enrollments: View or edit the courses a user is enrolled in.
    • Organization Enrollments: View or edit a user's organization enrollments.

Enroll users in batch

You can enroll as many as 500 users to courses at one time with a batch file. If the batch file doesn't include a Primary Institution Role attribute for a user, Blackboard Learn assigns the default course role of Student.

More on batch file guidelines for enrollments

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. On the Courses page, select Enroll Users.
  3. On the Enroll Users page, select Choose File.
  4. In the File Upload box, navigate to the batch file and select Open.
  5. Select the Delimiter Type that the batch file uses. If you select Automatic, Blackboard Learn analyzes the batch file and determines the delimiter based on the frequency of the character in the file.
  6. Select Submit.

Remove users from a course

Removing users from a course doesn't delete the users from Blackboard Learn. After you remove a user from a course, the user can no longer access course materials or user interactions. The user is no longer enrolled in the course.

You can't automatically restore users to courses after you remove them. However, you can enroll users again.

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course.
  3. On the Courses page, open the course's menu and select Enrollments. The list of enrolled users appears.
  4. Select the check boxes of users to delete.
  5. Select Remove Users from Course.
  6. Select Submit.

ULTRA: Customize course availability

If you have students who need to access a course outside of the normal term, you can override their enrollments. They'll have access to the course until the date you set.

  1. On the Administrator Panel in the Courses section, select Courses.
  2. Search for a course.
  3. On the Courses page, open the course's menu and select Enrollments. The list of enrolled users appears.
  4. Open the username's menu and select Edit.
  5. On the Enroll Users page, select a calendar day for Availability Override Date. This date will let the user access the course until the date you select. This option will cancel any previous enrollment date settings.

The Enroll Users page is also accessible through the Users page on the Administrator Panel. Search for a user and select Course Enrollments.