欢迎来到 Blackboard Privacy Center

我们的 Privacy Center 概述了我们的数据隐私计划和数据隐私做法。我们还在以下页面上提供了其他有用的数据隐私信息:


我们的数据隐私计划和做法

我们重视隐私。我们认为隐私权是每个人的一项基本权利。我们的客户把他们的员工和用户(通常是学生)的个人信息委托给我们。我们非常认真地对待这些信息所伴随的义务。

因此,数据隐私和安全是 Blackboard 一直重点关切的领域。以欧盟《通用数据保护条例》(GDPR) 为契机,我们进一步加强了我们现有的数据隐私做法,并将其正式确定为全球隐私官员领导的全球数据隐私计划的一部分。

我们在数据隐私方面的做法一直是以客户为中心。我们理解客户面临的挑战。我们的数据隐私计划旨在帮助他们遵守数据隐私法规。

我们通过了欧盟 - 美国隐私盾认证,满怀自豪地签署了隐私承诺书,并且也是隐私未来论坛的成员。


通过设计保护隐私

在当今世界,随着个人维护对其信息的控制权越来越难,通过设计保护隐私和问责制对于维护个人、客户和监管机构的信任以及用文件记载公司如何遵守 GDPR 越来越重要。因此,通过设计保护隐私是我们的数据隐私计划的核心。

对于 Blackboard 而言,这是一次改进,而不是改革。我们一直都对我们的新产品和实践开展法律审查。通过设计保护隐私的方法,我们将这些审查日渐正式化,也更加文件化。


数据传输

我们将继续采用分层冗余方法保证数据传输的合规性。这意味着我们通过多种途径满足数据传输要求,以确保个人信息得到充分保护:

  • 区域托管:我们实施区域托管战略,几乎全部产品在欧盟托管,其余少量产品将移至区域托管解决方案。尽管 GDPR 不要求进行区域存储,而且我们也认为数据本地化并不会提高数据隐私或安全性,但我们理解,许多欧盟客户更愿意将他们的数据存储在欧盟。
  • 隐私盾:Blackboard 已通过欧盟 - 美国隐私盾认证 ,因此我们在需要时可以合法地将个人数据传输至美国。
  • 示范条款:我们还使用经欧盟批准的数据传输“示范条款”,将个人信息合规地传输到 EEA 以外的 Blackboard 公司集团内。
  • 供应商:我们与供应商和合作伙伴(例如,IBM、Amazon Web Services)订立了严格的合同,以确保将数据传输要求(以及其他数据保护义务)传达给我们的供应商和合作伙伴。

需了解的是,虽然大部分产品(包括 Learn 9.1、Learn SaaS、Blackboard Open LMS 和 Collaborate)的欧盟客户的客户个人信息存储在这些数据中心,但为了提供产品和服务(例如,提供 24 小时全天候支持),可能需要从欧盟/欧洲经济区以外的其他国家/地区访问这些数据。凭借上述隐私盾认证和示范条款,我们可以进行此等数据传输。


我们的供应商

我们使用供应商协助我们提供产品和服务,或代表我们开展工作。在此过程中,当需要访问个人信息时,我们对供应商的数据隐私做法负责。我们的供应商必须遵守我们严格的数据隐私和安全要求及说明。他们不得将从我们这里获取或接收的个人信息用于除为我们开展工作所需的目的以外的任何其他目的。


安全

我们采用各种物理、管理和技术性保护措施来保护个人信息免于丢失、滥用和未经授权的访问或披露。我们制定了专门的信息安全计划,并且努力不断完善我们的技术性和操作性安全措施。

我们的措施考虑了我们收集、使用和存储的信息的敏感性,以及当前的技术水平。我们的安全措施包括数据加密、防火墙、数据使用、人员和供应商的访问限制以及对设施的物理访问控制。

使用支付数据的所有产品和服务都保持适用的支付卡行业 (PCI) 合规性水平。我们遵守 PCI 标准的情况在由外部审计员(被称为“合格安全评估员”)在开展年度审计期间进行验证。


联系我们

有任何问题?请联系我们:[email protected]。有关更多联系方式,请参阅我们的隐私声明

本文件的最后一次更新日期为 2018 年 5 月 22 日。

Welcome to Blackboard’s Privacy Center

Our Privacy Center provides an overview of our Data Privacy Program and our approach to data privacy. We also have additional helpful data privacy information on the following pages:


Our data privacy program & approach

We care about privacy. We believe that privacy is a fundamental right for all individuals. Our clients entrust us with the personal information of their employees and their users, who are often students. We take the obligations that are attached to this information very seriously.

Data privacy and security have therefore been long-standing key priorities of Blackboard. The European Union General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) was an opportunity to further strengthen our existing data privacy practices and formalize them as part of a global data privacy program led by our Global Privacy Officer.

Our approach to data privacy has always been client-focused. We understand the challenges our clients face. Our Data Privacy Program is designed to help them with their data privacy compliance.

We are EU-U.S. Privacy Shield certified, a proud signatory of the Privacy Pledge, and a member of the Future of Privacy Forum.


Privacy by design

As it becomes more and more challenging in today’s world for individuals to maintain control over their information, privacy by design and accountability become increasingly important to maintain the trust of individuals, clients, and regulators and to document how an organization complies with the GDPR. Privacy by design is therefore at the heart of our Data Privacy Program.

For Blackboard this is an evolution rather than a revolution. We have always conducted legal reviews of new products and practices. With our privacy by design approach we are formalizing and better documenting these reviews.


Data transfers

We have a multi-layered and redundant approach to data transfer compliance. This means we address data transfer requirements via multiple avenues to ensure personal information is adequately protected:

  • Regional hosting: We have a regional hosting strategy with almost all products hosted in the EU and other products planned to be moved to regional hosting solutions. While regional storage is not required by the GDPR and we do not think that data localization leads to better data privacy or security, we understand that many EU clients prefer their data to be stored in the EU.
  • Privacy Shield: Blackboard is EU-U.S. Privacy Shield certified which allows us to lawfully transfer personal information to the US where required.
  • Model clauses: We also use EU-approved data transfer “model clauses” to compliantly transfer personal information outside the EEA within Blackboard’s group of companies.
  • Vendors: Robust contracts are in place with vendors and partners (e.g., IBM, Amazon Web Services) to ensure that data transfer requirements (and other data privacy obligations) are passed on to our vendors and partners.

It is important to understand that while personal information of clients is stored in these data centers for most of the products (including Learn 9.1, Learn SaaS, Blackboard Open LMS and Collaborate) for EU clients, access to this data from outside the EU/EEA may be required to provide the products and services, e.g. for 24/7-support. Such data transfers are allowed thanks to the mentioned Privacy Shield certification and model clauses.


Our vendors

We use vendors to help us provide our products and services or to perform work on our behalf. Where this requires access to personal information, we are responsible for the data privacy practices of the vendors. Our vendors must abide by our strict data privacy and security requirements and instructions. They are not allowed to use personal information they access or receive from us for any other purposes than as needed to carry out their work for us.


Security

We employ a variety of physical, administrative, and technological safeguards designed to protect personal information against loss, misuse, and unauthorized access or disclosure. We have dedicated information security programs and work hard to continuously enhance our technical and operational security measures.

Our measures consider the sensitivity of the information we collect, use, and store, and the current state of technology. Our security measures include data encryption, firewalls, data use, and access limitations for our personnel and vendors and physical access controls to our facilities.

All products and services that use payment data maintain the applicable Payment Card Industry (PCI) compliance levels. Our compliance with the PCI standards is validated during annual audits that are conducted by external auditors (so-called ‘Qualified Security Assessors’).


Contact us

Any questions? Please contact us at [email protected]. For more contact options, please see our Privacy Statement.

This content was last updated on May 22, 2018.