通过在线讨论开辟沟通渠道并激发学生的兴趣。

讨论是鼓励学生批判性地思考他们的课程作业并彼此交流想法的一种好方法。您可以围绕课程中的某一节课创建讨论,也可以针对整个课程笼统地创建讨论。作为教师,您掌管讨论。发起讨论后,您可以发布自己的评论来指导学生。

详细了解如何使用 JAWS® 参与讨论、论坛和话题

在线课程中最常见的互动形式是通过由教师发起的讨论。参与讨论和讨论中的互动并不是自然而然地发生。您需要有目的地将其设计到课程中。 为鼓励参与讨论及提高讨论质量,需要精心准备讨论问题及创造疑问。

在原始课程视图中,讨论包含论坛话题。在 Ultra 课程视图中,讨论在一个位置发生。


开展成功的在线讨论

在学生开始参与讨论时,帮助他们放轻松,并为其提供相关指南。

下面是开展成功的在线讨论以帮助构建社区和完成作业的四个常规步骤。

  1. 制定参与要求
    • 共享您的期望。创建学生可以从中阅读规范并访问评分信息的讨论。
    • 制定适用的在线互动规范,加强推行获得公共认可的适宜行为。
  2. 准备有效的问题
    • 将多媒体资源引入到问题中,以降低单纯基于文本的互动的单调性。随着诸如 YouTube™ 等服务的普及,您可以要求学生观看剪辑来回答问题。
  3. 鼓励新观点
    • 如果讨论帖子包含太多一致的意见而对观点没有充分的质疑,可指定姓氏首字母为 A-M 的学生支持一方,姓氏首字母为 N-Z 的学生支持另一方。
  4. 主持
    • 表明您在参与。要求不发言的参与者提供说明、资源或输入内容。

访问讨论

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于讨论的“Ultra”帮助

您可以允许用户以多种方式访问讨论。您可以向课程菜单添加定制的链接,也可以向课程区添加链接。如果您在课程区中提供讨论的链接,学生可以在访问其他课程内容时访问该工具。

作为教师,在控制面板上,展开课程工具区域,然后选择讨论区。通过此链接,可访问课程讨论区及课程中小组的小组讨论区。

讨论区结构

如果您使用 Ultra 课程视图,则不会看到论坛或话题。跳转至关于讨论的“Ultra”帮助。

正如规划和构建课程内容十分关键一样,您需要设计在线讨论的结构。

讨论区主页上显示了论坛列表。论坛是参与者讨论一个主题或一组相关主题的地方。在每个论坛中,用户均可创建多个话题。话题包括原始帖子及该帖子的所有回复。您可以创建论坛和话题,以便将讨论组织成与课程相关的单元或主题。

详细了解论坛

详细了解话题

讨论将依序显示出来,以便所有课程成员都可以跟得上对话。


“讨论区”页面

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于“讨论”页面的“Ultra”帮助

讨论区通常通过课程菜单访问,不过您可以在其他课程区中(如内容区中)提供指向它的链接。

讨论区页面上包含您创建的所有论坛的列表。您必须首先创建一个或多个论坛,然后用户才可以发起消息话题。您也可以搜索讨论内容。在默认情况下,为节省屏幕空间,搜索字段以收拢状态显示。

  1. 要按列对列表进行排序,请选择列标题。
  2. 要查看论坛中的帖子,请选择论坛标题。粗体显示的论坛标题包含未读帖子。
  3. 对于每个论坛,可以查看帖子总数、未读帖子数、您收到的回复数以及参与者人数。要快速访问论坛的未读消息,请选择未读帖子列中的链接。

Ultra:关于讨论

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于讨论的“原始”帮助

讨论是让学生积极参与课程的一种简单方法! 讨论会鼓励学生批判性地思考他们的课程作业并彼此交流想法。

您可以创建课程和小组讨论 。您也可以将讨论计数用于成绩,并在文件夹中组织讨论。

想要学生参加该线索?您可以允许他们创建讨论,这些讨论将与标签由学生创建一起显示在列表中。

Video: Create a Discussion in the Ultra Course View


ULTRA: Watch a video about discussions

Doesn't seem familiar? Watch a video about discussions in the Original Course View.

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Create a discussion shows how you can easily create and manage a discussion.


Ultra:创建讨论

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于设置讨论的“原始”帮助

所有新讨论最初都处于隐藏状态。您可以编辑讨论,并在准备好让学生参与时将其设置为可见。

您可以在课程中的两个位置创建讨论。

  1. 直接在“课程内容”页面上创建讨论,以便学生可以在其余资料的上下文中查看该讨论。
  2. 选择导航栏上的讨论图标,以打开课程讨论页面。选择页面右上角的加号以打开菜单。您可以添加讨论并使用文件夹对其进行整理。选择齿轮图标以打开讨论设置面板。您可以允许学生创建讨论,这些讨论将与标签由学生创建一起显示在列表中。您可以随时打开和关闭此设置。

    详细了解学生创建的讨论

将课程从原始课程视图转换为 Ultra 课程视图时,会拼合某些讨论,并删除一些设置。详细了解转换过程


Ultra:“新讨论”页面

您可以为每个人添加讨论,也可以让学生参与小组讨论。您也可以将讨论计数用于成绩。

  1. 键入一个有意义的标题以帮助学生找到正确的讨论。如果您不添加标题,则“新讨论”和日期将向您和您的学生显示为标题。
  2. 包括准则和期望。您可以使用编辑器中的选项以设置文本格式、附加文件和嵌入多媒体

    要使用键盘跳转至编辑器工具栏,请按 ALT + F10 组合键。在 Mac 上,按 Fn + ALT + F10 组合键。使用箭头键可选择一个选项,如带编号的列表。

  3. 显示或隐藏讨论。默认情况下,新讨论处于隐藏状态。在您选择显示讨论之前,学生无法看到讨论。您可以提前创建所有内容,并根据您的课程安排选择希望学生看到哪些内容。您还可以根据日期、时间和课程成绩簿中其他项目的成绩,设置可用性条件
  4. 选择讨论选项。选择讨论设置图标以打开一个面板,其中显示可以为您的讨论选择的选项。
    • 包括与其他内容项目的讨论。选中显示在课程内容页面上,以将讨论包括在课程内容页面上。
    • 鼓励原创观点。某些学生在对讨论做出回复时可能会过于依赖他人的想法。隐藏式响应和回复可帮助学生培养有关原始讨论主题的想法。选择首先发布可向学生隐藏讨论活动,直到其响应讨论。希望使用首先发布和小组时,先选择首先发布,然后再分配小组。
    • 对讨论评分。为了激励学生发布有见解的贡献内容,您可以将讨论纳入成绩范围内。当您选择对讨论评分时,会显示更多选项,如截止日期和最高分数。最高分数适用于学生提供的一个或多个发布。为讨论启用评分后,将会在成绩簿内自动创建一列。
    • 将目的与讨论对齐。您和您的机构可以使用目的来衡量学生在方案和课程中取得的成绩。创建讨论时,您可以对齐一个或多个目的。选择与目的对齐以搜索可用目的。讨论可见后,学生可以查看目的,以便了解您的期望。

      详细了解如何将目的与课程内容对齐

    • 添加小组。您可以将学生分配到讨论小组,这样牵涉的人员会较少。您也可以为每个小组指定特定主题。您可以对小组讨论评分

Ultra:由学生创建的讨论

当您允许学生创建讨论时,其标题将与标签由学生创建一起显示在主讨论页面上。您可以重新排列学生讨论,以使其全部显示在一起,或将其移动到一个文件夹中。

当课程成员打开一个讨论时,该讨论的作者会列在侧面板中。

学生可以编辑或删除自己的帖子,如果没有人回复,可以删除他们自己的讨论。


Ultra:讨论还是对话?

您可以通过课堂讨论来拓展思路或分享想法,也可以通过对话就特定内容快速交流。例如,在创建作业时,您可以启用对话。任何人均可为作业对话做出贡献 - 寻求帮助、分享来源或回答其他人的问题。任何人均可在查看作业的同时阅读对话内容。

对话仅随相关内容项一起显示,而不会显示在讨论页面上。

Open the line of communication and engage your students with online discussions.

Discussions are a good way to encourage students to think critically about their coursework and interact with each others' ideas. You can create discussions around individual course lessons or for your course in general. As the instructor, you own the discussions. After you start a discussion, you can post comments of your own to guide students.

More on discussions, forums, and threads with JAWS®

The most common form of interaction in an online course is through discussions started by an instructor. Participation and interaction in discussions don't occur naturally. You need to intentionally design it into your courses. To encourage engaging, quality discussion, craft discussion questions carefully, and create inquiry.

In the Original Course View, discussions contain forums and threads. In the Ultra Course View, discussions happen in one place.


Develop successful online discussions

Help your students feel comfortable and provide them with guidelines as they begin to participate in discussions.

Here are four general steps to developing successful online discussions to help build community and fulfill assignments.

  1. Define participation requirements.
    • Share your expectations. Create a discussion where students can read about etiquette and access grading information.
    • Model proper online interaction and reinforce appropriate behavior with public recognition.
  2. Craft an effective question.
    • Incorporate multimedia resources into your questions to reduce the monotony of purely text-based interactions. With the popularity of services like YouTube™, you can ask students to view a clip and ask for responses.
  3. Encourage new ideas.
    • If discussion posts contain too much agreement and not enough questioning of ideas, assign students with the last names A-M to support one side and N-Z to support the other.
  4. Moderate.
    • Establish your presence. Ask for clarification, resources, or input from silent participants.

Watch a video about discussions

Doesn't seem familiar? Watch a video about discussions in the Ultra Course View.

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Use discussions explains how to use discussions in the Original Course View.


Access discussions

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about discussions.

You can allow users to access discussions in several ways. You can add a customized link to the course menu and to a course area. When you provide a link to discussions in a course area, students can access the tool alongside other course content.

As an instructor, on the Control Panel, expand the Course Tools section and select Discussion Board. From this link, access the course discussion board and the group discussion boards for the groups in your course.

Discussion board structure

If you use the Ultra Course View, you won't see forums or threads. Jump to the Ultra help about discussions.

Just as it's critical to plan and structure your course content, you need to provide structure for online discussions.

The main discussion board page displays a list of forums. A forum is where participants discuss a topic or a group of related topics. Within each forum, users can create multiple threads. A thread includes the initial post and all replies to it. You can create forums and threads to organize discussions into units or topics relevant to your course.

More on forums

More on threads

Discussions appear sequentially so all course members can follow the conversation.


Discussion Board page

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about the Discussions page.

The discussion board is commonly accessed from the course menu, although you can provide a link to it in another course area, such as in a content area.

The Discussion Board page contains a list of all the forums you've created. You must first create one or more forums before users can start message threads. You can also search for discussion content. By default, the search field appears collapsed to save screen space.

  1. To sort the list based on a column, select the column heading.
  2. To view the posts in a forum, select the forum title. Forum titles in bold contain unread posts.
  3. For each forum, view the total number of posts, the number of unread posts, the number of replies to you, and the number of participants. For quick access to the forum's unread messages, select the link in the Unread Posts column.

ULTRA: About discussions

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about discussions.

Discussions are an easy way to engage students in your courses! Discussions encourage students to think critically about their coursework and interact with each others' ideas.

You can create course and group discussions. You can also make discussions count for a grade and organize discussions in folders.

Want students to take the lead? You can allow them to create discussions that appear in the list with yours.

Video: Create a Discussion in the Ultra Course View


ULTRA: Watch a video about discussions

Doesn't seem familiar? Watch a video about discussions in the Original Course View.

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Create a discussion shows how you can easily create and manage a discussion.


ULTRA: Create discussions

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about setting up discussions.

All new discussions are hidden at first. You can edit and make them visible when you're ready for student participation.

You can create discussions in two locations within your course.

  1. Create a discussion directly on the Course Content page so students can view it in context with other materials.
  2. Select the Discussions icon on the navigation bar to open the course discussions page. Select the plus sign in the upper-right corner to open the menu. You can add discussions and organize them with folders. Select the gear icon to open the Discussion Settings panel. You can allow students to create discussions that appear in the list with yours. You can turn this setting on and off at any time.

    More on student-created discussions

When you convert your course from the Original Course View to the Ultra Course View, some discussions are flattened and some settings are removed. Learn more about the conversion process.


ULTRA: New Discussion page

You can add discussions for everyone or ask students to participate in group discussions. You can also make discussions count for a grade.

  1. Type a meaningful title to help students find the right discussion. If you don't add a title, "New Discussion" and the date appear as the title for you and your students.
  2. Include guidelines and expectations. You can use the options in the editor to format text, attach files, and embed multimedia.

    To use your keyboard to jump to the editor toolbar, press ALT + F10. On a Mac, press Fn + ALT + F10. Use the arrow keys to select an option, such as a numbered list.

  3. Show or hide the discussion. New discussions are hidden by default. Students can't see a discussion until you choose to show it. You can create all your content ahead of time and choose what you want students to see based on your schedule. You can also set availability conditions based on date, time, and performance on other items in the course gradebook.
  4. Select discussion options. Select the Discussion Settings icon to open a panel with options for your discussion:
    • Include the discussion with other content items. Select Display on the Course Content page to include the discussion on the Course Content page.
    • Encourage original ideas. Some students may rely too much on the thoughts of others when they draft responses. Hidden responses and replies can help students cultivate their own ideas on your initial discussion topic. Select Post first to hide discussion activity from students until they respond to the discussion. When you want to use both post first and groups, select Post first before you assign groups.
    • Grade the discussion. To motivate students to post insightful contributions, you can make the discussion count for a grade. When you choose to grade a discussion, more options appear such as the due date and maximum points. The maximum points apply to one or more posts made by a student. When you enable grading for a discussion, a column is created automatically in the gradebook.
    • Align goals with the discussion. You and your institution can use goals to measure student achievement across programs and curriculums. When you create a discussion, you can align one or multiple goals. Select Align with goals to search for available goals. After you make the discussion visible, students can view the goals so they know your expectations.

      More on how to align goals with course content

    • Add groups. You can assign students to discussion groups so fewer people are involved. You can also assign a specific topic to each group. You can grade group discussions.

ULTRA: Discussions created by students

When you allow students to create discussions, their titles appear with the label Student Created on the main Discussions page. You can rearrange the student discussions so that they all appear together or move them to a folder.

When course members open a discussion, the author is listed in the side panel.

Students may edit or delete their own posts and may delete their own discussions if no one has responded.


ULTRA: Discussions or conversations?

While you can use class discussions to develop or share ideas, you can also use conversations for quick exchanges on specific content. For example, when you create assignments, you can enable conversations. Anyone can make a contribution to the assignment conversation—ask for help, share sources, or answer questions others have. Everyone can read the conversations while they view the assignment.

Conversations appear only with the relevant content item and don't appear on the discussions page.