This information applies only to the Ultra experience.

When your institution enables the Ultra experience, you may be allowed to have a mix of courses in the Ultra Course View and the Original Course View. Choose the course view that works best for each of your courses. Both course views appear seamlessly in your course list.

Compare the experiences and course views

You can fully explore your Original course in the Ultra preview before you switch to the Ultra Course View. You can also review a list of features and functions that change or won't carry forward if you convert.

Do you have Original courses on CourseSites? You can also explore a CourseSites Original course in the Ultra course preview.

More on importing Original courses in CourseSites


How the preview works

You can only preview courses that aren't currently open to students. You can make your course private while you try the Ultra preview. On the Courses page, select Make course private in the course's menu.

If you attempt to switch your course from Private to Open during the preview, you'll be warned that you won't be able to switch back to the Original Course View. The course is converted to Ultra Course View automatically.

The preview is just that—a preview. You don't have to make a permanent change to your course.

  • If you like the Ultra Course View, you can permanently convert your course.
  • If you aren't ready to make the switch, you can return to the Original Course View. But, any changes you made to your course in the preview mode are lost if you switch back to the Original Course View. Use the preview to explore rather than build.

Can students see the preview?

When your course is in preview mode, only instructors and administrators can view it.

After you open your course to students, students see it in the course view you chose. You can only open a course to students if it's in the Original Course View or permanently converted to the Ultra Course View.


Begin the preview

After your institution enables the Ultra experience, you can start the Ultra preview at any time from your Original Course View.

Select the Experience the new Learn icon in the top-right corner of the page. In the pop-up window, start the conversion to the Ultra Course View.

You'll receive an email notification when your course is ready. From the Courses page, access your course and check out how your content looks in the Ultra Course View.


Explore the preview

In the Ultra Course preview, you can see exactly how your content will look if you decide to permanently switch to the Ultra Course View.

Select the View Details link in the banner or the Course Exceptions link in the Details & Information area to view how many items won't carry forward in the Ultra Course View. These items are known as exceptions. In the Conversion Details panel, select a priority group to view the specifics so you can make the best decision for your course. Some features aren't currently available in the Ultra Course View such as surveys, Self and Peer Assessments, wikis, blogs, and journals.

More on the conversion details

Understanding exception priorities

Permanently converting your course to the Ultra Course View is a big step. For some instructors, the Ultra Course View is a big shift from the Original Course View. Other instructors may welcome the more modern interface and streamlined features. To help you better understand how your course environment will change, the system groups exceptions into three priority groups, based on the potential impact.

  • Low Priority exceptions include course appearance changes, formatting changes, or slight feature limitations.
  • Medium Priority exceptions include feature behavior changes and formatting and submission removal.
  • High Priority exceptions include unsupported features and grade data removal.

Select View Exceptions under a priority heading to learn more. All exceptions in that category appear in the panel. To see how the exception affects parts of your course, select an exception. The list of affected content appears so you can understand the specific changes.

Remember, you're in preview mode. You haven't committed to a permanent conversion of your course yet.

Any changes you make to your course while in the Ultra Course View preview won't be saved if you exit the preview and choose to continue in the Original Course View. If you choose to permanently convert your course to Ultra, the changes you made during the preview are saved.

Content types that will convert

As features and functions continue to roll out for the Ultra Course View, the supported list will expand.

  • Content items: Converted to Ultra documents—some loss of formatting to text and files that you added in the editor may occur
  • Folders: Limited to two sub-levels
  • File attachments: Attachments are grouped together in alphabetical order at the end of the content
  • Assignments, including group assignments: Converted to Ultra assignments, with attempt data, submissions, and grades removed during conversion. Assignments with maximum points that contain decimal places: the points possible value is truncated and rounded down to the nearest whole number.
  • Assignments using SafeAssign
  • Tests: Converted to Ultra tests with only the Essay, Fill in the Blank, Fill in Multiple Blanks, Matching, Multiple Choice, Multiple Answer, and True/False question types supported at this time.
    • Unsupported question types are removed
    • Attempt data and submissions are removed during conversion
    • Unsupported test options are removed
    • Maximum points or question point values containing a decimal are truncated and rounded down to the nearest whole number.
  • Original questions pools are converted to Ultra question banks and appear on the Reuse Questions page
    • Existing tags added to questions in the Original Course View appear on the Reuse Questions page
  • Rubrics: Percentage-range and percentage rubrics are converted without descriptions. All other rubric types are converted to percentage rubrics, such as points and point range. All Original rubric settings are now set to the Ultra rubric defaults, such as display to students.
  • Calendar due dates
  • Discussions: Flattened to four levels of threading—ability to view replies to replies—with some settings removed
  • Course announcements: Converted to Ultra course announcements, with limitations:
    • Rich text announcements are converted to plain text
    • Some embedded images may appear
    • No attachments and date restrictions included
    • Course links may appear but won't take users to the content items
  • Gradebook: With some limitations
  • Lesson plans and learning modules: Content organized into two sub-levels of folders, with no forced sequential viewing setting for learning modules
  • Mashups: Links to the original content appear, if possible
  • Web links
  • Course links: To assignments and discussions only with limitations
  • Goal alignments: Converted for supported items in the Ultra Course View and made visible to students
  • Attendance
  • SCORM packages

Content types and settings that will NOT convert

These items are removed from the course when you convert permanently to Ultra Course View:

  • Blank Page content type
  • Wikis, blogs, and journals
  • Syllabus content type
  • Learning module and lesson plan content types: Content organized into two sub-levels of folders with no forced sequential viewing setting for learning modules
  • Module pages
  • Surveys
  • Unsupported test options
  • Unsupported question types
  • Self and Peer Assessments
  • Tasks tool
  • Groups and their assignment submissions and discussions
  • Achievements
  • Textbook content type
  • Course links to tools and content with the exception of assignments and discussions with limitations
  • Adaptive release rules: Rules and settings are removed from any content items that have them
  • Guest access
  • Course banners
  • Course messages

Choose your course view

After you preview the Ultra Course View, it's decision time!

You can either permanently convert the course to Ultra or stay with the Original version. Select the course view you want in the bar at the bottom of your screen.

Back to Original course: Your course will revert to the way it was before the preview. Remember, any changes you made to your course during the Ultra preview will be lost if you go back to the Original Course View.

Use the Ultra course: After you make the conversion permanent, you can open the course to students when you're ready.