发布内容的两种方式

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于发布内容的“Ultra”帮助

定制内容的发布时,您要创建交互性更强的课程,并且要根据各个学生的需求量身定制。在原始课程视图中,您可以使用选择性发布在适当的时间向所选个人显示适当的内容。

可以使用两种类型的选择发布:

借助基本选择发布,您可以向内容项应用一个规则。此规则可以包含所有四种类型的标准,但是不能包含相同类型的多个实例。必须先满足该规则中的所有标准,才能发布项目。向规则添加的标准越多,则该项目发布的限制便越多。更多标准使得学生更难以获取访问权限。

借助高级选择性发布,您可以设置更复杂的发布标准。例如,您可以在规则中添加更多标准,也可以为发布内容指定不同选项。学生必须满足一个规则的所有标准才能获取访问权限。

例如,一个规则允许小组 A 中测试分数在 85 分以上的成员查看内容项目。同一项目的另一个规则允许小组 B 中的成员在某一特定日期后才能查看相同的内容项目。

只能为每个规则添加一个“成员”标准和一个“日期”标准。您可以向每个规则添加多个成绩中心和复查状态标准。


规则和标准

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于使用日期发布内容的“Ultra”帮助

标准是定义选择发布规则的组成部分。您可以为每个规则应用一个或多个标准。例如,一个规则可能将内容设置为在特定日期后可用。具有多个标准的另一个规则可能将内容设置为在特定日期后对某个课程小组可用。

创建规则时,您可以添加四种类型的标准:

  • 日期
  • 成员
  • 评分
  • 复查状态

详细了解规则

详细了解标准


根据多个成绩列发布内容

您有适合第一学期作业和期中考试成绩都达到 85% 或更高的学生的高级阅读材料。您可以设置一个规则,使其包括两个项目的成绩标准。获得此内容的途径受到了限制,因为必须满足两个标准。


在学生已复查多个内容项目后发布内容

在学生复查单元中的三个内容项目后,将单元测试设置为可用。添加三个复查状态标准,每个内容项目对应于一个标准。获得此内容的途径受到了限制,因为学生必须满足规则的全部三个标准。


向同一内容项目添加两个或更多规则

将一个内容项设为在第 5 周对所有学生可用,对将所有以前的内容项标记为已复查的学生提前可用。添加一个含复查状态标准的规则和一个含日期标准的规则。学生可以通过两条途径获取对内容项目的访问资格,因为他们只需满足一个规则。


在两个日期或日期范围发布内容

如果您要将一个学习指南设为在期中考试和期末考试之前的那周可用,请添加两个日期规则(每周一个)。您可以创建用来访问同一内容项目的两条途径(通过日期控制)。


发布内容的实际应用

三位教授在讨论他们在自己的课程中用来发布内容的不同方式。

Shelby M.

“我将课程组织为与教材章节对应的各个单元。

我不希望学生进度超前,因此将每个单元设置为在特定日期发布。例如,单元 1 在学期开始时可用。单元 2 在下一周才可用。”


Maria R.

“我为了补习的目的创建了额外的课程资料。我希望向在我的课程中需要额外帮助的学生提供此资料。

我将补习资料设置为对在期中考试中得分为 65% 或更低的学生可用。”


Tom K.

“我的课程按周组织成文件夹。每个文件夹都包含概述、讨论、必读材料和测试。

我希望学生在测验之前阅读该材料。我使用选择性发布防止学生在将阅读材料标记为已复查之前看到测试。”


Ultra:使用日期发布内容

似乎并不熟悉?跳转至关于发布内容的“原始”帮助

课程内容页面上,您可以访问内容列表中每个项目和文件夹的可见性设置。在可见性菜单中,选择有条件的可用性以访问项目的面板。

按键盘上的 Tab 键跳转至可见性列表,然后按 Enter 键打开菜单。使用 Alt/Option 键 + 向上和向下箭头选择一个选项。

您可以显示内容、隐藏内容或使用规则向学生发布内容。

您可以在确切日期、特定日期之后或定义的时间段内发布内容或文件夹。

例如:按照特定顺序涵盖内容。您希望内容仅在进行了课堂讨论之后才可用。您不希望学生进度超前。

例如:在您机构排定的最终测试周期间发布最终测试。

选择日期和时间后,您还可以选择在学生有权访问内容之前为其显示或隐藏此类内容。

  • 对学生可见。如果您选择在学生可以访问内容之前向其显示此类内容,则您的日期和时间选项会与课程内容页面上的项目一同显示。学生可以查看发布内容的日期和时间以及内容不再可用的时间。在学生的访问结束后,内容仍会显示,但学生无法对其访问。
  • 对学生隐藏。如果您选择在学生可以访问内容之前对其隐藏此类内容,则内容仅会在学生能访问时对其可见。学生看不到内容不再可用的日期和时间。在学生的访问结束后,内容将从其视图中隐藏。

如果您将某个文件夹设置为在特定日期发布,则学生在该日期之前无法展开或查看该文件夹中的内容,即使您在学生有权访问之前将该文件夹设为可见也是如此。发布日期过后,如果所有内容都没有日期限制,则学生可以查看该文件夹中的所有内容。

有条件的可用性规则会连同课程内容页面上的内容一起显示,以便您快速了解其可供学生使用的时间。


Ultra:根据表现发布内容

课程内容页面上,您可以访问内容列表中每个项目和文件夹的可见性设置。您可以在学生针对课程中项目或成绩簿列获得一定分数时,发布项目或文件夹。您也可以在打开课程内容项目时在屏幕顶部查找可见性设置。

例如:学生必须按照特定顺序且在理解相应内容后完成课程作业。您希望学生得分达到 B 或高于 B 后才会进入下一个项目。

找到您要发布给学生的相应内容,并选择可见性菜单中的有条件的可用性。在有条件的可用性面板中,选择表现,根据学生在课程中其他项目上的分数来发布内容。选择您想要创建规则的评分项目。成绩要求列表显示有分数范围、基于项目的成绩架构和最高分数值。

例如:您需要根据分值为 100 的测验来创建条件发布规则。学生需要获得 70 分或更高分才能访问第 1 章测试。

  1. 在第 1 章测试的可见性菜单中选择有条件的可用性
  2. 选择表现并选择已评分的项目菜单中的测验。
  3. 成绩要求下方,选择学生必须在测验中取得的成绩。在本示例中,该要求为 70 分或更高
  4. 保存规则。

学生可以在完成实践测试并获得 70 分或更高分后,访问第 1 章测试和提交尝试。

如果您为内容选择多个条件,则学生必须符合所有条件,才能使用内容。

如果您未找到适合您的成绩要求,可以指定自定义成绩范围。选择自定义范围,其他字段随即会显示。使用自定义范围时,您可以针对项目的成绩架构和最高分数创建规则,也可以使用分数百分比。

可见性设置

创建有条件的可用性规则时,您可以选择是否在学生无权访问时将项目显示在课程内容列表中。

选择对学生可见,在学生有权访问之前向其显示内容。学生需在访问内容之前查看自己需要符合的条件。

选择对学生隐藏,在学生无权访问时隐藏内容。选择此设置后,条件不会显示给学生。内容仅会在可用时显示,就像课程中设置为对学生可见的其他内容一样。

学生可以看到什么?

您可以选择在内容可用之前向学生显示设有有条件的可用性的项目。

如果您在内容不可用时显示内容,则学生可以先查看自己需要符合的条件,然后再访问内容。项目还会显示在课程日历和成绩页面。内容不会显示在学生的课程动态中。

如果您在内容不可用时不显示内容,则学生在任何地方都看不到此类内容,直到其可用。

如果您针对对学生隐藏的项目创建规则,则学生将没有机会满足访问规则。但是,根据可见性设置,设有有条件的可用性的项目仍会显示在课程内容页面。在这种情况下,系统会向学生显示一条消息,解释其无法访问内容,并可就此联系其教师。

修复中断的规则

如果您删除规则基于的内容,则条件发布规则就会中断。课程内容页面上会显示警告,提醒您学生由于规则中断而无法访问内容。打开有条件的可用性面板,设置新规则。

删除规则

要删除有条件的发布规则,请在内容项目的可见性菜单中选择对学生可见对学生隐藏。如果您要设置新规则,请再次打开有条件的可用性面板。


Ultra:按顺序发布内容

您可以使用课程中的学习模块作为有组织的内容集合的容器。模块允许学生从一个内容项目导航到下一个内容项目,而不会受到干扰或需要额外点击。

如果您使用教材或其他资料作为课程科目的基础,则要对内容进行分组以便与这些材料的步调进度一致,模块是一种有效且符合逻辑的方式。为支持此步调和逻辑,您可以要求学生以选定的顺序访问模块资料。

如果学生尚未在模块中开始学习,则您只能设置序列 。您可以在学生开始学习后删除该条件,但不能重新应用该条件。

  1. 课程内容页面上,您可以访问模块的可见性设置,访问方式与访问其他内容的可见性设置一样。在可见性菜单中,选择有条件的可用性以访问模块的面板。

    按键盘上的 Tab 键跳转至可见性列表,然后按 Enter 键打开菜单。使用 Alt/Option 键 + 向上和向下箭头选择一个选项。

  2. 定义条件下,选择顺序。此选项仅在学习模块中可用。
  3. 您也可以根据日期或成绩将模块设置为对学生可用。
  4. 选择“保存”。有条件的可用性规则会连同课程内容页面上的内容一起显示,以便您快速了解其可供学生使用的时间。

控制对模块中各个内容部分的访问。您可以显示或隐藏模块中的内容,即使在模块可见时也会保留可见性设置。您也可以根据其他条件将此内容设为可用。

请注意,不要在学习模块中设置冲突的条件。在根据日期和成绩设置其他可用性条件之前,请考虑学习模块中项目的顺序。

学生可以看到什么?

当模块可见时,学生也可以查看模块中的所有可见内容,包括到期日期。系统将向学生显示一条消息,说明他们需要按顺序打开并完成内容,同时还要满足您设置的其他条件。

Two ways to release content

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about releasing content.

When you customize the release of content, you create a course that is more interactive and tailored to the needs of individual students. In the Original Course View, you can use adaptive release to show the appropriate content, to select individuals, at the appropriate time.

You can use two types of adaptive release:

With basic adaptive release, you can apply one rule to a content item. This rule can contain all four types of criteria, but not multiple instances of the same type. All criteria in the rule must be satisfied before the item is released. The more criteria added to a rule, the more restrictions on the release of that item. More criteria makes it more difficult for students to gain access.

With advanced adaptive release, you can set more complex release criteria. For example, you can add more criteria to a rule, or you can specify different options for releasing the content. Students must meet all of the criteria of one of the rules to gain access.

For example, one rule allows Group A members with a score above an 85 on a test to view the content item. Another rule for the same item allows Group B members to view the same content item only after a specific date.

You can only add one membership criterion and one date criterion for each rule. You can add multiple Grade Center and review status criteria to each rule.


Rules and criteria

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Ultra" help about using dates to release content.

Criteria are the parts that define an adaptive release rule. You can apply one or more criterion to each rule. For example, one rule may make content available after a specific date. Another rule, with multiple criteria, may make content available to a course group after a specific date.

You can add four types of criteria when you create rules:

  • Date
  • Membership
  • Grade
  • Review Status

More on rules

More on criteria


Release content based on multiple grade columns

You have advanced readings for students who receive 85% or more on both their first term assignments and their midterm exams. You can set up a rule that includes grade criteria for both items. The path to this content is narrower because both criteria must be satisfied.


Release content when students have reviewed multiple content items

Make a unit test available when students review the three content items in the unit. Add three review status criteria, one for each content item. The path to this content is narrower because students must satisfy all three criteria for the rule.


Add two or more rules to the same content item

Make a content item available to all students in Week 5, and available sooner to students who mark all previous content items as reviewed. Add one rule with review status criterion and a second rule with date criterion. Students can take two paths to gain access to the content item because they only have to satisfy one rule.


Release content on two dates or date ranges

If you want to make a study guide available the week before both the midterm and final exams, add two date rules, one for each week. You create two paths to the same content item, controlled by date.


Releasing content in action

Three professors discuss the different ways they use release content in their courses.

Shelby M.

"I organize my course into units that correspond to textbook chapters.

I don't want students to work ahead, so I set each unit to be released on a specific date. For example, Unit 1 is available when the term starts. Unit 2 isn't available until the following week."


Maria R.

"I create additional course materials for remedial purposes. I want this material to be available to students who need extra help in my course.

I set the remedial material to be available to students who received a grade of 65% or less on their midterm exams."


Tom K.

"My course is organized into weekly folders. Each folder contains an overview, a discussion, required reading, and a test.

I want students to read the material prior to the quiz. I use adaptive release to prevent students from seeing the test until they mark the reading as reviewed."


ULTRA: Release content with dates

Doesn't seem familiar? Jump to the "Original" help about releasing content.

On the Course Content page, you can access the visibility setting for each item and folder in your content list. In the visibility menu, select Conditional availability to access the item's panel.

With your keyboard, tab to the visibility list and press Enter to open the menu. Use Alt/Option + the up and down arrows to select an option.

You can show, hide, or use rules to release content to students.

You can release an item or folder on an exact date, until a certain date, or during a defined period of time.

Example: Content is covered in a specific order. You want content available only after it's discussed in class. You don't want students to work ahead.

Example: Release your final test during your institution's scheduled final tests week.

After you choose dates and times, you can also choose to show or hide the content for students before they have access.

  • Visible to students. If you choose to show the content to students before they are able to access it, your date and time choices are shown with the item on the Course Content page. Students see the date and time the content will be released and when it will no longer be available. After students' access ends, the content is still visible but they can't access it.
  • Hidden from students. If you choose to hide the content from students before they are able to access it, the content is only visible to students when they are able to access it. Students don't see the dates and times when the content will no longer be available. After students' access ends, the content is hidden from their view.

If you set a folder for release on a specific date, students can't expand or view the contents in the folder until that date, even if you make the folder visible before students have access. After the release date, if all the contents have no date restrictions, students can view everything in the folder.

Conditional availability rules appear alongside content on the Course Content page so you can quickly know when it is available for students.


ULTRA: Release content based on performance

On the Course Content page, you can access the visibility setting for each item and folder in your content list. You can release an item or folder when a student achieves a certain score on an item or gradebook column in your course. You can also find visibility settings at the top of your screen when you open course content items.

Example: Students need to complete coursework in a specific order and after they've demonstrated understanding. You want students to progress to the next item only after scoring a B or above.

Identify the piece of content you want to release to students and select Conditional availability in the visibility menu. On the Conditional Availability panel, select Performance to release the content based on a student's score on another item in your course. Select the graded item you want to base the rule on. The Grade requirement list appears with a range of scores, based on the item's grade schema and maximum point value.

Example: You want to create a conditional release rule based on a quiz worth 100 points. Students need to score 70 points or higher to access the Chapter 1 Test.

  1. Select Conditional availability in the Chapter 1 Test's visibility menu.
  2. Select Performance and select the quiz in the Graded item menu.
  3. Under Grade requirement, select the grade a student must achieve on the quiz. In this example, the requirement is 70 points or higher.
  4. Save the rule.

Students can access the Chapter 1 Test and submit attempts after they complete the practice test and earn a score of 70 points or higher.

If you choose more than one condition for your content, students must satisfy all conditions before the content is available.

If you don't find a grade requirement that suits you, you can specify a custom grade range. Select Custom range and additional fields appear. When you use a custom range, you can base the rule on the item's grade schema and maximum score, or you can use score percentage.

Visibility settings

As you create conditional availability rules, you can choose whether the item appears in the Course Content list when students don't have access.

Select Visible to students to show the content to students before they're able to access it. Students see the conditions they need to satisfy before they can access the content.

Select Hidden from students to hide the content when students don't have access. When you select this setting, the conditions don't appear to students. The content appears only when it is available, just as other pieces of content in your course that is set to Visible to students.

What do students see?

You can choose to show items with conditional availability to students before the content is available.

If you show the content when it's unavailable, students can see the conditions they need to satisfy before they can access the content. Items also appear on the course calendar and the Grades page. The content doesn't appear in students' activity streams.

If you don't show the content when it's unavailable, students won't see it anywhere until it's available.

If you base a rule on an item that's hidden to students, they won't have the opportunity to satisfy the access rule. However, the item with conditional availability may still appear on the Course Content page based on the visibility settings. In this case, students see a message explaining that they can't access the content and to contact their instructor.

Fix a broken rule

Conditional release rules break if you delete the content the rule is based on. An alert appears on the Course Content page to let you know when students are unable to access content due to broken rules. Open the Conditional Availability panel to set up a new rule.

Remove a rule

To remove a conditional release rule, select Visible to students or Hidden from students in the visibility menu for the content item. Open the Conditional Availability panel again if you want to set up a new rule.


ULTRA: Watch a video about conditional availability

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on YouTube, navigate to More actions, and select Open transcript.


Video: Conditional availability shows you how to set conditional availability of items in your course.