内联评分

利用内联评分,教师可以直接在浏览器内进行注解并为学生作业文件进行评分。内联查看器采用一种基于云的第三方技术(名为 New Box View)。

详细了解教师工作流程

启用/禁用内联评分

管理员面板 > 集成 > Building Block > 已安装的工具 > 作业 > 设置

作业设置页面上,默认情况下,New Box View 选项设置为 ON。如果您选择禁用集成,用户需要下载文档才能查看他们。

上传等待时间

当用户向 Learn 中上传文档时,文档会传输至 New Box View 以进行转换。基于文件大小以及网络连接性等因素,某些文档可能不再传输。此设置确定在 Learn 显示 New Box View 界面或消息前,用户可能等待的最长时间。此消息用以表明,在可以查看文档前预计要等待的时间:“文档正在转换。请稍候。”

  • 如果您选择一个较低的值,并且用户上传的是大型文档,则他们将更快地看到上述消息,但是同时到该消息的频率也更大。
  • 如果您选择一个较高的值,那么用户看到此消息的频率会较低,但 New Box View 界面可能需要更长时间加载。
  • 没有超时表示在显示文档转换对话框之前 Learn 不等待 New Box View 的响应。用户会立即看到下一页,但文档转换对话框会始终显示。

常见问题解答

我能从先前的内联评分服务 Crocodoc 下载数据吗?

可以。要了解详情,请参阅从 Crocodoc 下载文件

机构能自定义或更改与 New Box View 的集成吗?

Blackboard 有一个 Box 中央帐户,可集中管理所有 Learn 客户帐户,因此,客户没有管理负担。我们无法让客户自定义或更改此集成。Learn 客户不能请求 Blackboard 启用特殊 Box 工具或功能。

本机 Google Drive 文件是否能与 New Box View 一起使用?

目前,教师无法预览或注解学生以 Google Drive 的本机文件格式(如 Google 文档 (.gdoc)、工作表 (.gsheets)、幻灯片 (.gslides) 等)提交的文件。


存储

学生文件提交一如既往地存储在 Blackboard Learn 实例中。提交的副本会传输给 New Box View 以进行转换。文档的转换版本通过 Box 管理的服务器存在于云中。可对转换的文档进行注解。这些注解作为与转换的文档关联的元数据存储在 Box 云服务中。

使用标准方法(提交删除、作业删除、课程删除等)从 Learn 中删除文档时,存储在 Box 中的互惠内容也会通过这两种服务之间的集成以编程方式被删除。用户从课程中删除内容时,无需采取其他操作即可从 Box 中删除内容。

在复制课程或从存档中恢复课程时,New Box View 尝试的注解不会沿用。


转换

New Box View 可以转换使用任何字符集(包括双字节字符集)的文件。同样,评论注解可以采用任何字符集添加,包括双字节字符集。但是,内联查看器界面本身并未本地化,因此内联查看器工具栏上的标签及内联查看器的任何其他文字界面元素始终采用英语显示。

无法针对文本文件、HTML 文件和通过编辑器创建的内容添加注解,因为此类内容已经以内联方式显示在本地浏览器中。系统不会将这些文件发送给 Box 进行转换,因此,无法针对其添加注解。

加载转换的文档时,会在 Box 服务中启动会话。会话期间所做的注解会自动保存。不过,该 Box 会话会在一小时后过期。如果教师对文档进行注解所花的时间超过一小时,则在会话过期后添加的任何注解都不会保存。作为在原始课程视图中的一种解决方法,离开为作业评分页面,导航到 Blackboard Learn 中的另一个页面,然后再回到为作业评分页面可重新建立新会话。


安全性

New Box View 应用程序和关联数据(转换的文档和注解)存在于 Amazon Web 服务云中(在美国托管)。文件在 Box 服务中非常安全,仅存储在美国 Blackboard、Box 和 Amazon Web 服务中,以竭尽全力保护对云中存储的内容的访问。

不会将有关学生的个人身份信息发送给 New Box View。Blackboard Learn 从 Box 检索文档 ID 并将其分配给文档。文档 ID 到用户、课程、作业和尝试的映射在 Blackboard Learn 中进行本地跟踪。这些数据不会提供给 Box。传输给 Box 的只有进行转换的文件。不过,文件内容可能包含个人身份信息。转换的文件存储在 Box 服务中,教师在转换的文件上进行的任何注解也是如此。


限制

  • 学生无法为文档添加注解。
  • 内联评分不适用于 SafeAssign、自评和互评、讨论或资源库。
  • New Box View 内联查看器界面当前仅采用英语显示。
  • 注解会话在一小时之后过期。如果教师对文档进行注解所花的时间超过一小时,则在会话过期后添加的任何注解都不会保存。

Inline Grading

With inline grading, instructors can annotate and grade student assignment files directly within the browser. The inline viewer is powered by a third-party, cloud-based technology called New Box View.

More on the instructor workflow

Enable/disable inline grading

Admin Panel > Integrations > Building Blocks > Installed Tools > Assignments > Settings

On the Assignment Settings page, the New Box View options are set to ON by default. If you choose to disable the integration, users need to download documents to view them.

Upload Waiting Time

When users upload documents to Learn, the documents are transmitted to New Box View for conversion. Some documents may take longer to transmit based on factors such as file size and network connectivity. This setting determines the maximum time users could wait before Learn displays either the New Box View interface or a message. The message states how long to expect to wait before the documents are available to view: "Document is converting. Please wait."

  • If you select a lower value and users upload large documents, they see the message more quickly, but also more frequently.
  • If you select a higher value, users see the message less frequently, but the New Box View interface may take longer to load.
  • No Timeout means Learn doesn't wait for a response from New Box View before the document conversion dialog appears. Users see the next page immediately, but the document conversion dialog always shows.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I download data from the previous inline grading service—Crocodoc?

Yes. To learn more, see Download Files from Crocodoc.

Can an institution customize or alter the integration with New Box View?

Blackboard has a central account with Box and manages all Learn customer accounts centrally, so customers have no management burden. We don’t have the ability for customers to customize or alter the integration. A Learn customer can’t request that Blackboard enable a special Box tool or feature.

Do native Google Drive files work with New Box View?

At this time, instructors can’t preview or annotate files students submit in Google Drive’s native file formats such as Google Docs (.gdoc), Sheets (.gsheets), Slides (.gslides), and so on.


Storage

Student file submissions are stored in your Blackboard Learn instance as always. A copy of the submission is transmitted to New Box View for conversion. The converted version of the document lives in the cloud on servers managed by Box. Annotations are made to the converted document. They are stored as metadata associated with the converted document in the Box cloud service.

When documents are removed/deleted from Learn using the standard methods—submission delete, assignment delete, course delete, and so on—the reciprocal content stored in Box is also removed programmatically through the integration between the two services. When users delete content from a course, they don't need to take additional actions to remove content from Box.

New Box View annotations for attempts aren't carried over when a course is copied or restored from an archive.


Conversion

New Box View can convert files in any character set, including double-byte character sets. Likewise, comment annotations can be added in any character set, including double-byte character sets. However, the inline viewer's interface itself isn't localized, so the labels on the inline viewer toolbar and any other textual interface elements of the inline viewer will always appear in English.

Text files, HTML files, and content created with the editor can't be annotated because they already display inline natively in the browser. These files aren't sent to Box for conversion and therefore can't be annotated.

When a converted document is loaded, a session is initiated in the Box service. Annotations made during a session are saved automatically. However, the Box session expires after an hour. If an instructor takes longer than an hour to annotate a document, annotations made after that session expiration may not be saved. As a workaround in the Original Course View, navigate away from the Grade Assignment page to another page in Blackboard Learn, then navigate back to the Grade Assignment page to re-establish a new session.


Security

The New Box View application and associated data—converted documents and annotations—live in the Amazon Web Services cloud, hosted in the United States. The files are secure in the Box service and stored only in the U.S. Blackboard, Box, and Amazon Web Services go to great lengths to secure access to the content stored in the cloud.

No personally identifiable data about students is sent to New Box View. Blackboard Learn retrieves a document ID from Box and assigns it to the document. That mapping of document ID to user, course, assignment, and attempt is tracked locally in Blackboard Learn. None of that data is available to Box. All that's transmitted to Box is the file for conversion. However, the content of the file could contain personally identifiable information. The converted file is stored in the Box service, as are any annotations instructors make on the converted files.


Limitations

  • Students can't annotate documents.
  • Inline grading doesn't work with SafeAssign, Self & Peer Assessment, discussions, or the Content Collection.
  • The New Box View inline viewer interface is displayed only in English at this time.
  • Annotation sessions expire after an hour. If an instructor takes longer than an hour to annotate a document, annotations made after that session expiration may not be saved.