Promote two-way conversations!

Blackboard Reach works within the Mobile Communications App and creates two-way conversations between teachers and parents or community members. Conversations can be used to give feedback, information on upcoming assignments or required paperwork due dates, and class information and events.


Roles and permissions

Direct message capabilities are limited based on the roles users have in the system.

District or School Administrators: 

  • Usually a principal or superintendent
  • Automatically assigned to channels based on your SIS import
  • Can create new channels using BbComms
  • Can post messages to channels
  • Can create direct messages with any other user in their channels
  • Can view the message history and message transcripts
  • Can access reporting
  • Activate and deactivate channels in Reach

Teachers:

  • Usually a teacher, coach, counselor, or principal
  • Automatically assigned to channels based on your SIS import
  • Can't create, join, or leave channels
  • Can post messages to channels
  • Can create direct messages with any other user in their channels

Parents:

  • Usually a parent or guardian
  • Automatically assigned to channels based on your SIS import
  • Can't create, join, or leave channels
  • Can't post messages to channels
  • Can create direct messages to the teachers or leaders of the channels they're a member of
  • Can't create direct messages with any other users

Activate Blackboard Reach

Channels and channel members are imported from your SIS to Reach. This auto import process is created by the Blackboard extraction/transfer tool called DataLink. You'll need to schedule a kick-off call with a Blackboard Product Specialist and a Data Integration Specialist (DIS).

More information on data imports

Select Blackboard Reach from the universal navigation bar.

Channels are imported from your SIS system. Activate a channel to allow channel members to create direct messages. Channel members present in the SIS are automatically added to the channel when you import. 

Toggle the slider next to the Channel you want to activate or deactivate. When you deactivate a channel, the chat history becomes invisible for chat participants. You can still access the history in the administrator reports.