How do I restrict participant permissions?

Participant permissions can be restricted in two ways.

Administrators can control the default participant permissions in the Collaborate Ultra Scheduler. This is usually done when the session is first created. This feature enables Instructors to ensure only session moderators can control the participants’ ability to enable their audio, video, type in the chat or draw on the whiteboard and add files. By restricting these permissions, participants will join their session without any of these capabilities available by default. Restricting permissions is intended to prevent disruptive behavior from participants.

More on session security for administrators

Moderators can also control participant permissions while in an active Collaborate Ultra session. Instructors can control a participant’s ability to enable their audio, video, type in the chat or draw on the whiteboard and add files. This is intended to prevent disruptive behavior from participants.

More on session security for moderators


How do I ensure only authorized participants can join a session?

If you’re not using Collaborate integrated with an LMS, sending unique session invitation links is a secure way to provide access to Collaborate sessions. When using invitations, Administrators can control who is invited to a particular session and what session role (Participant, Presenter, or Moderator) that invitee will enter the session as.

More on session security for administrators


How do I restrict  access to my Collaborate sessions? 

Guest links provide an easy way to provide access to a Collaborate session. However, guest links for your virtual classroom can be shared and and anyone with the link can enter your session. If you do decide to use guest links, make sure guests are assigned the participant role and that you restrict participant access.

More on session security for administrators