أسلوب المتابعة باستمرار وتعمد وحذر
مع نيكي ستابس وبام وارين، نظام الكلية التقنية في جورجيا

بيئة الجامعة: تلبية احتياجات القوى العاملة

يتألف نظام الكلية التقنية في جورجيا (TCSG) من 22 كلية موزعة على 85 موقعًا، ويمثل محركًا للتقدم الوظيفي وتطوير القوى العاملة، من خلال حصول نسبة 98% من الخريجين لدينا البالغ عددهم 27000 خريج في العام الماضي على فرصة عمل أو مواصلة تعليمهم. كجزء من مهمتنا لزيادة وصول الطلاب إلى التعلم والتدريب عالي الجودة بتكلفة ميسورة، يوفر برنامج HOPE Career Grant دروسًا مجانية للطلاب المؤهلين الذين يلتحقون ببرنامج يتعلق بإحدى الصناعات الاستراتيجية في جورجيا. تتوافق مناهجنا ومعاييرنا مع متطلبات الأعمال والصناعة، بينما توفر شراكاتنا مع جامعات وكليات جورجيا ذات الأربع سنوات دراسة انتقالات سلسة للطلاب الذين يرغبون في تعزيز مساعيهم الأكاديمية.

أهداف Ally: تأسيس حس التوجيه

يعمل فريقنا في الاتصال التقني الافتراضي في جورجيا (GVTC) مع جميع كلياتنا البالغ عددها 22 كلية لمساعدتها في تحسين عروضها عبر الإنترنت وتحسين استخدامها للأدوات الرقمية. بعد جهد أولي من قِبل الكليات لمعالجة إمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة إلى مواقع الويب، بدأنا في اتخاذ بعض الخطوات الأولى لدعم الكليات في إصلاح مشكلات إمكانية الوصول في محتوى مقرراتهم الدراسية، مع التركيز على خمسة مجالات عالية التأثير: الصور والأنماط وتنظيم المحتوى والروابط واللون. وكما توقعنا، تطلبت مساعدة المدرسين في إصلاح مشكلات إمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة لديهم أكثر من مجرد إرسال قائمة تحقق عبر البريد الإلكتروني وتوجيههم إلى معايير WCAG، ولكنها تطلبت إقامة الحوار بين الأطراف.

كنا نعتقد أن Ally سيساعد في تبصير المدرسين وتزويدهم بالرؤى لاتخاذ نهج أكثر تكرارية لتحسين عنصر محتوى واحد في كل مرة.

بعد بضعة أشهر فقط من بدء مبادرتنا، نشر "المجلس الأمريكي لتيسير التنقل لذوي الإعاقة" تحديثًا للفقرة 508، الذي يُلزم الجامعات بالوفاء بشروط الامتثال لإمكانية الوصول الرقمي لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة بحلول نهاية العام. وغني عن القول، قد أثار ذلك بعض الذعر بين المدرسين، الواقعين تحت الضغط بموجب هذا القرار الرسمي الذي قد يستوجب تغيير شكل بيئة مقرراتهم الدراسية. احتجنا إلى أدوات لمساعدتنا في اكتساب فهم استراتيجي للتحديات التي تواجهنا ودعم المدرسين بشكل أفضل. وهو الوقت الذي اكتشفنا فيه Ally.

استراتيجية التنفيذ: التمتع بمستوى أفضل حاليًا

بالنسبة لفريقنا في هيئة الاتصال التقني الافتراضي في جورجيا، كان إنشاء نظام مراسلة متسق وتوفير موارد تدريبية فعالة لكلياتنا أمرًا ضروريًا في التحضير لطرح Ally. بالتعاون مع "نقاط الاتصال" لدينا في كل كلية من الكليات، استخدمنا نهج تدريب المدرب لنمذجة مراسلات المدرس المتعلقة بالغرض من مؤشرات Ally، مع التأكيد على أن المدرسين لا يحتاجون إلى إصلاح كل شيء دفعة واحدة أو البدء في حذف المحتوى من مقرراتهم الدراسية.

نود توفير المزيد من التوضيح: لا يتمثل الهدف في أن نتمتع بالمثالية في النهاية؛ ولكن الهدف هو أن تكون في مستوى أفضل حاليًا.

لقد أنشأنا وحدات نمطية ومناهج دراسية شملت إمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة والتصميم العالمي للتعلم في مواردنا التدريبية، مع التركيز على الطرق التي يمكن أن يثري بها المحتوى سهل الوصول خبرات التعلم ونتائج جميع الطلاب. لقد استفدنا من موارد Blackboard الحالية لتصميم المحتوى التدريبي لدينا، وعملنا على زيادة حضورنا في تطوير أعضاء هيئة التدريس واجتماعات الاتحاد. لمساعدة المدرسين في التغلب على المفاهيم الخاطئة التي مفادها أن المحتوى الذي يمكن الوصول إليه يجب أن يكون مملًا، اعتمدنا نهج توماس توبين "توفير بديل"، والذي يشجع المدرسين على تزويد الطلاب بوسيلة بديلة للمحتوى الذي قد يشتمل على مشكلات تتعلق بإمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة.

التقييم والنتائج: نماذج النجاح

قمنا بتنفيذ برنامج Ally في جميع الكليات البالغ عددها 22 كلية في نفس اليوم، وكانت النتائج مبهرة. بينما كان هناك بالفعل عدد ضخم من مهام معالجة المحتوى على عاتقنا لتنفيذها، قدم Ally "الأسباب" و"والأساليب" الرئيسية المتعلقة بإمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة إلى المدرسين داخل مقرراتهم الدراسية، مما يجعل العملية أقل ترويعًا وأكثر إرشادًا. كان هناك عدد قليل من المدرسين الذين عارضوا في البداية الأوامر الرسمية المتعلقة بإمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، ولكنهم سُعدوا بإمكانية الوصول إلى أداة جلبت الشفافية إلى العملية. قامت كل كلية بإعداد إستراتيجية لطرح Ally، مما سمح لنا - من منظور النظام - بتحليل المبادرات التي أسفرت عن أفضل النتائج. وكشفت تقاريرها المؤسسية عن زيادات إيجابية في درجات إمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة في جميع الكليات البالغ عددها 22 كلية، حيث شهدت كليتان زيادات بنسبة أكبر من 36% في فصل دراسي واحد! أرسل أحد مكاتب التعلم عن بعد في الكلية نصائح وحيلاً أسبوعية إلى المدرسين، مع التركيز على مشكلة واحدة موضحة في دليل التعلم المصغر المكون من صفحة واحدة.

لقد اكتشفت أنه بمجرد تغيير طريقة تفكيرك إلى بيئة تعليمية شاملة، يصبح إعداد المواد التعليمية أمرًا أسهل بكثير من القيام بالأمور بالطريقة القديمة"- مدرس

وضعت الكلية الأخرى هدفًا داخليًا يتمثل في الوصول إلى 90% من إمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة في جميع المقررات الدراسية، ومنحت الأولوية لدعم المعالجة، بدءًا من المقررات الدراسية المسجل بها طلاب يعانون من إعاقات ظاهرة. كما صممت الكلية أيضًا دورة تدريبية إلزامية حول إمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة للمدرسين، واستعانت بنموذج "المقرر الدراسي الإلزامي" للإشارة إلى وصول 90% من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة إلى المقررات الدراسية.

النقاط المهمة: العمل بوتيرة مناسبة

عند مواجهة عدد ضخم من المحتوى الذي يتعذر الوصول إليه من جانب ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، فمن المحتمل أن تؤدي محاولة تسلق أعلى منحدر وإصلاح كل شيء مرة واحدة إلى الكثير من المقاومة والإحباط. بدلاً من ذلك، صمم مسارًا يوافق نقاط قوتك ويستفيد من الموارد المتاحة - مثل مجموعة أدوات الاتصال والاعتماد في Ally - لدعم رحلتك. من خلال مشاهدة أفضل الممارسات وهي تظهر في أكثر من 22 طرحًا لـ Ally، وجدنا أن الكليات يمكنها إحراز تقدم كبير في درجات إمكانية وصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة لديها من خلال اتباع نهج تكراري مثابر لإصلاح مشكلات المحتوى. لتمهيد مسار أسهل لكلياتنا، نعمل على تحسين كيفية تتبع التقدم واستخدام Ally حتى نتمكن من أن نكون أكثر استجابة لاحتياجات المدرسين أثناء قيامهم بالخطوات التالية في رحلة التعلم الشاملة.

One Foot in Front of the Other
with Nikki Stubbs and Pam Warren, Technical College System of Georgia

University context: Answering Workforce Needs

Comprised of 22 colleges spanning 85 locations, the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) is an engine for career advancement and workforce development, with 98% of our 27,000 graduates last year finding employment or continuing their education. As part of our mission to increase student access to affordable, high quality learning and training, our HOPE Career Grant provides free tuition for eligible students who enroll in a program related to one of Georgia’s strategic industries. Our curricula and standards align with business and industry requirements while our partnerships with Georgia’s four-year universities and colleges offer seamless transitions for students who wish to further their academic pursuits.

Map of TCSG’s 22 colleges across the state of Georgia
Map of TCSG’s 22 colleges across the state of Georgia

Goals for Ally: Establish a Sense of Direction

Our team at the Georgia Virtual Technical Connection (GVTC) works with all 22 of our colleges to help them enhance their online offerings and improve their use of digital tools. Following an initial effort by the colleges to address the accessibility of their websites, we began taking some first steps to support the colleges in fixing accessibility issues with their course content, focusing on five high-impact areas: Images, Styles, Content organization, Links, and Color. As we anticipated, helping instructors fix their accessibility issues required more than just emailing them a checklist and pointing them to the WCAG standards, but it got the conversation started.

We believed Ally would help move instructors out of the dark, and provide them the insights to take a more iterative approach to improving one content item at a time.

Just a few months after beginning our initiative, the US Access Board published their 508 Refresh requiring campuses to meet digital accessibility compliance by the end of the year. Needless to say, this induced some panic among instructors, who under pressure by such a mandate may have considered changing the format of their course environment. We needed tools to help us make strategic sense of the challenges in front of us and better support instructors. And that’s when we discovered Ally.

Implementation Strategy: Be Better Today

For our team at the GVTC, establishing consistent messaging and creating robust training resources for our colleges was essential in preparing for our Ally roll-out. Collaborating with our “Points of Contact” (POCs) at each of the colleges, we used a train-thetrainer approach to model instructor communications about the purpose of the Ally indicators, stressing that instructors didn’t need to fix everything at once or start deleting content from their courses.

We wanted to be clear: The goal is not to be perfect by the end; the goal is to be better today.

We created modules and courseware that covered accessibility and Universal Design for Learning in our training resources, focusing on the ways that accessible content could benefit the learning experiences and outcomes of all students. We took advantage of existing Blackboard resources to design our training content, and increased our presence at faculty development and consortium meetings. To help instructors overcome misconceptions that accessible content had to be boring content, we adopted Thomas Tobin’s “plus-one” approach, which encourages instructors to provide students an alternative for content that may have accessibility issues.

Evaluation and Findings: Models for Success

We implemented Ally across all 22 colleges the same day, and the results were illuminating. While there was indeed a mountain of content remediation work in front of us, Ally provided the essential “whys” and “hows” about accessibility to instructors within their course, making the process less intimidating and more guided. Even a few instructors who were initially resistant to the accessibility mandates were pleased to have access to a tool that brought transparency to the process. Each of the colleges owned their Ally roll-out strategy, allowing us- from a system perspective- to analyze what initiatives yielded the best results. Their institutional reports revealed positive increases in accessibility scores across all 22 colleges, with two schools seeing increases of over 36% in a single term! One college’s distance learning office sent out weekly tips and tricks to instructors, focusing on a single issue explained in a one-page micro-learning guide.

I have discovered that once you change your mindset to an all-inclusive learning environment, it is exponentially easier to create instructional materials than doing things the old way” - Instructor

The other college established an internal goal of reaching 90% accessibility in all courses, and prioritized their remediation support, beginning with courses that had students with disclosed disabilities. The college also implemented a mandatory accessibility training course for instructors, and used a “master course” model to signify courses had reached 90% accessibility.

Graph showing varying levels of improvement in Ally accessibility score across the 22 colleges.
Graph showing varying levels of improvement in Ally accessibility score across the 22 colleges.

Pearls of Wisdom: Slow your Roll

When facing a mountain of inaccessible content, trying to scale the steepest slope and fix everything at once is likely to result in a lot of resistance and frustration. Instead, design a path that matches your strengths and that takes advantage of available resources- like the Ally Communications and Adoption Toolkit- to support your journey. Watching best practices emerge over 22 Ally rollouts, we’ve found that colleges can make significant progress on their accessibility scores by taking a patient, iterative approach to fixing content issues. To pave an easier path for our colleges, we’re refining how we track progress and Ally usage so that we can be more responsive to instructor needs as they take the next steps in their inclusive learning journey.

Resources and examples